We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING! Service, Property and Personnel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Heidelberg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING! Service, Property and Personnel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

As a seasoned traveler, I have spent many nights in hotels and hostels always looking for a great bargain. Rinse, the General Manager, and his ENTIRE staff will make your stay feel like you are the most important person in the room. This is a new hotel and everything from the lobby to our beautifully decorated room was just spotless!

I know that one reviewer stated that parking is FREE...this is only true for the weekend (Saturday/Sunday). During a weekday, parking will only cost you 8.40 euro for the entire day...a great bargain for the Amsterdam area. Tram #5 will get you to Central Station in Amsterdam in 30 minutes. Tram #5 will also stop by the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum as well. We had 6 people in our party (two children 13 & 16 with 4 adults) and needed 3 rooms, as this hotel only offers rooms with max capacity of 2 per room (no rollaways). Bathrooms were beautifully decorated in black tile and the glass enclosed shower was the perfect way to end a full day of touring.

Breakfast was included and although the first morning things were a bit hectic, Rinse and his staff quickly made adjustments to make sure everyone was being taken care of. Bar is open 24/7. Hotel is located in a quiet area away from a ton of traffic, but only a minute walk to Tram landing. In the same area are: Korean Restaurant, Grocery Store, Tabac Store (to buy a Tram ticket...suggest if you are staying for more that one day...a 48 hour ticket) also an Ice Cream Store and Bakery as well.

The hotel also had bikes for rent. We were fortunate enough to stay of 2 nights...wished it was for more:( We will definitely be BACK...

Only suggestion ..to have a mini refrigerator in room. There is a coffee pot in room with complimentary coffee and tea:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagementExpr, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am so excited that you enjoyed your stay to its fullest. For public parking indeed cost is Eur. 8.40. However this is just from 09.00 – 19.00 hours. In the evenings and over the weekend parking is free of charge. By tram indeed travel is very convenient and tram 5 takes you within 15 minutes to the Museum Square, host of our famous Van Gogh museum and other sights are within walking distance.

I regret to inform you that we do have rollaway beds free of charge. On the other hand our hotel even features rooms with sofa beds which can hold up to 3 guests in a spacious room. Please contact us directly for any future visits to arrange the best available rates and rooms via info.amsam@hiex.nl . My entire team and myself are looking forward having you again in our hotel.

With warm regards,

Rinse Kempinga
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    150
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
172
14
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hod Hasharon, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

For a business hotel, Excellent location and service. Near the airport, near tram into Amsterdam center and easy access to the motorway. I needed to visit a client in Amersfoort and stay over for Shabbat. The staff were all A1, very accommodating, Heineken on tap. Inge was great with the tea in the afternoon.Better than expected from a HI Express. It's a modest and quite environment.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms no wait for the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Conveniently located and Very clean. Staff is very friendly. As Premier Club member, my check-in and check-out took seconds. I was offered a complimentary beer upon check-in. Looked like everything was brand new and spotless clean. Free overnight parking on the street right in from of the hotel. Great value for the price! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Nice room, nice bathroom, spacious shower (a 2nd bar to hang the bathtowels would have come in handy). We liked the colour scheme of the reception/breakfast area and of our room. Everything was new and clean, and quiet: they have good soundproofing, we couldn't hear the planes from nearby Schiphol.
The coffee machine is indeed impressive, but the coffee is made from some sort of liquid concentrated Nescafe, a bit of a pity. Apart from that, breakfast was up to standard.
We came to visit family and do some sightseeing. Public transport is near and handy. The location is not far from downtown Amsterdam.
Above all, we appreciated the quality of service: a friendly and helpful team headed by a young, efficient and equally friendly manager: he produced a much needed umbrella, printed our boarding passes for our return trip, among other things.
We are sure to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express at Amsterdam South is an outstanding hotel with excellent service. The general manager, Rinse, and his exceptional team—Inge, Rence, Silvia, Deepa, Mohamed and Rachel—all go above and beyond the standards for excellence in accommodating guests at the hotel. They were all very helpful, professional and welcoming; and, the hotel is new, contemporary, spotlessly clean and convenient. Everything about my stay was absolutely excellent and definitely earned a five-star rating.

I stayed for four nights for a business meeting. I liked the staff and hotel so much that I stayed an additional two nights. The hotel is located outside of downtown in a very nice neighborhood with cafés restaurants, a shopping center and lovely canals for strolling. The metro (51) and tram (5) stations are very close to the hotel (2 min walk) and very convenient for getting anywhere in Amsterdam within 5-8 minutes. I was traveling primarily by myself and liked the option of staying in a quiet, safe neighborhood. The rooms were very clean with comfortable beds and a good shower. Breakfast consisted of an unlimited continental breakfast with fruit, croissants and breakfast breads, cereal, meats and cheese, and veggies. The coffee machine was phenomenal and produced everything from espressos to mochas.

Many thanks to Rinse, Inge, Rence, Silvia, Deepa, Mohamed and Rachel for a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Express at Amsterdam South (Zwaansvliet 20)! If I have another opportunity to visit Amsterdam, I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: I had a great room--quiet, clean, comfortable. The hotel is new and all of the rooms are well appoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We booked this because of all the previous outstanding reviews and were not disappointed. It is a new hotel, 2 months I believe, and it seems Holiday Inn Express brought in their A Team to work it. The service was impressive and not lacking for anything. The hotel itself is gorgeous with beautiful rooms and great bathrooms. The showers there were far above average for Europe. The internet connection was free and only two clicks away from being online. Easy access to the #5 tram which will get you to Central Station in 20 minutes. They also have bicycle rental on the premises.

If you want to be right in the heart of the action, this hotel is not for you but, if you want an outstanding place to stay with excellent value and access to everywhere you want to be, this place is perfect.

Special mention to the staff, especially Ismael, who couldn't have made us feel more welcome. I would recommend this place to anyone and will definitely stay here next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Location was important for us: we did not want to stay in the noisy center but wanted to get there simply. This hotel is on a quiet street and a 20min tram ride from the center (tram no 5, runs every 10min), the station is 200m from the building. Tram is euro 2.70 for an hour or 7.50 for 24 hours, and can be bought from the driver.
We stayed Fri - Sat and there were plenty of parking places for a reasonable hourly/daily price (free on weekends). (Our friends stayed closer to the center and were stading in the line for parking for 2 hours.)
The room was clean and good sized. Breakfast selection was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South

Address: Zwaansvliet 20, 1081AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring is upon us and so is the new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – SouthThe new Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South is ideally located near the financial district of Amsterdam, the South Axis. When using tram or bus which stops in front of the hotel, guests are in close reach of all main financial institutes, the VU Medical Center and the RAI Congress Center (all at 5-10 minutes door-to-door travel). The sound proof, well-furnished and spacious rooms offer modern equipment like LCD TVs with satellite, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea facilities and a walk in shower. On top of all these facilities, our guests are served a complimentary Continental breakfast and also a free daily kosher breakfast is available with no advance reservation required. Next to this the hotel offers special kosher sandwiches. The hotel is located in the Jewish community of Amsterdam and Amstelveen and therefore you will also find many Orthodox Synagogues within walking distance and special Shabbat amenities are available in the hotel.With close proximity of the A10 around Amsterdam, you can easily travel to many main destinations in the Netherlands (Haarlem, The Hague, Utrecht, etc.) and also sightseeing to the most important sites (for instance the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Anne Frank House and the Royal Palace) are in good reach via public transport. The Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam – South welcomes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.