We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moes

Moes
Prins Hendrikkade 142 S, 1011 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
+31 20 623 5477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #179 of 2,251 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: French, Dutch, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Description: MOES is a bar and restaurant in the basement underneath De Appel arts center. Seasonal, local products are the basis of the international menu. Once a month, the menu is completely without fish or meat. MOES makes a modest contribution to reducing the distance from farm to fork by growing it's own herbs in the garden.2012 Architects from Rotterdam designed the interior with the same philosophy: what you can get from nearby, is good. Through a 'harvest map' building materials from the environment are found and re-used.Opening hours: Tuesday - Friday 17h00-23h00, Saturday 12h00-23h00, Sunday 12h00-18h00 and Monday closed. Groups of 10 or more people can contact us for business or private meetings outside opening hours
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Booked a table at Moes on Saturday night. We didn't want to go to a chain restaurant and saw this online, after reading several good reviews.

It was 5 minutes from Central Station, near to where we were staying. It is a real nice place, the staff were friendly and welcoming. We only had mains as we had eaten a lot earlier in the day, one of us enjoyed burger and chips(!) and the other had a lovely fish with salad and potatoes that literally melted in your mouth! Again, the service throughout was great, a little off the beaten track, but well worth it.

3.90 for a local beer too, ace!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    44
    23
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice and informal. Relaxed Place to eat dinner. Great food. If you order the wine per bottle and don't finish it, you pay only what you have drunken

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, UK
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Exceeded all expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stumbled on Moes by looking for dinner in Amsterdam that wasn't 'Argentinean', Italian or fast food.

Found this place that is just off the beaten track, but we are so glad that we did.

Arrived fairly late but the service and food were still all excellent. The service by the waiter (evening of Saturday 1st March) was fantastic: personable, knowledgable and confident. He didn't mind at all that we needed a translated menu! He explained the dishes and we opted for the set 3-courses for €32.50. I had the sardines stuffed with chickpeas to start, steak with amazing chips and the cheese board (€2 supplement). It was all absolutely amazing. Cooked, presented and served with confidence. My partner opted for steak tartar to start, guinea fowl for main and then crepe with pear and vanilla compote for dessert. Again, all was just sublime.

We also had a couple of beers and a couple of glasses of wine.

Total bill was €79. As with all Amsterdam prices, this may seem high but Amsterdam is a very expensive city to visit if you're used to British prices (like me), but Moes exhibits amazing value for money. You can easily pay €30 for a 'mixed grill' at any rubbish 'Argentinean' steak house but at Moes you get a gourmet 3-course dinner served with expertise.

Moes was just perfect from start to finish. I can't recommend this place highly enough. This is my 3rd time in Amsterdam and when I come back again I will visit Moes again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious and healthy food in a restaurant full of great ideas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

You can bring your own drinks to this restaurant, what a great idea!
You can eat best home make cookies in town, when you order coffee or thee.
When ever there is a new menu, you are invited to come and taste it.
The place is built with materials from the neighborhood.
And there is a even a room for small groups.
This restaurant serves food not only for your stomach, but for your eyes and for your brain as well!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“All round winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Atmosphere cool, relaxed, arty, welcoming from the start. We only came in for a beer, but having looked over the menu decided to stay a bit longer. This is a million miles from posh or stuffy, but Moes has an excellent reasonably priced wine list. We asked the water to recommend a beer for our food. He made a great choice, real full flavour beer complemented the food perfectly.

The food was a cut above anything I've come across in Amsterdam. Really skilled cooking with fresh, local ingredients with totally complementary flavours, and some wonderfully inventive twists. Staff were helpful, friendly, but never intrusive. The place is class but with a sense of humour and an arty feel. Great eating and drinking experience, five minutes walk from Centraal Station.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moes also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Moes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.