We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in B&B "Tulip of Amsterdam" !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip of Amsterdam B&B to your Saves list
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay in B&B "Tulip of Amsterdam" !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were very welcomed by David of the 'Tulip of Amsterdam'.
He suggested us a protected parking (10 euros/day) within les than 10 min. walking of the B&B.
The interior of the B&B is top! The lounge is vintage, the spacious room breathes the quirky atmosphere of Amsterdam with nice tulips and decorations.
Despite its "super central location", we heard no street noise!
The room is very quiet and cozy with great attention to details, a free minibar and well organized tea and espresso facilities.
The bathroom is clean and equipped with hairdryer, mirrors, shampoo, shower gel, soft towels and accessoires.
Also the breakfast in the morning is an absolute must and satisfied every expectation!
We enjoyed our stay at the "Tulip of Amsterdam" and recommend this B&B!
We are already looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    20
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
163
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

As a person traveling overseas for the first time, I could not have been more fortunate in finding the Tulip as a place to start my adventure! What a treasure this historical yet modern gem is! From the simple and clear directions for how to find the location to the warm and generous hospitality of the owners was exactly what I needed to make my stay in Amsterdam marvelous. The rooms are spacious and clean and provided everything I needed. Breakfast is traditional yet allows for the guest to have unlimited choice. There is great attention to aesthetics and each time I 'came home' from my adventures around the city, I instantly felt relaxed and all I needed to refresh was readily available. Location could not be more perfect for sight seeing, easy access to great food, and nightlife. This is a lovely place and I hope to return some day!

Room Tip: I loved everything about my room! It was spacious and cozy at the same time. Big windows but great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location was central to everything, Chris and David were very nice and always available to give advice and information whenever you needed it but also left you to have your own privacy i.e when using the kitchen for breakfast in the morning. The room was really cosy and comfortable, the fridge was always topped up with complimentary drinks and a few chocolates - also it was really nice to have the nespresso coffee machine in the room (and kettle with various teas). There was a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room when we arrived which was sweet, but neither me or my partner drink. There was always a nice selection of food and drinks for breakfast, cereals/bars, yogurt, fruit, various breads, jams, cheese, meats and whatever you needed if you wanted to whip up an omelette. They have put a lot of thought into what their doing and the B&B itself is very clean. I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked this B&B due to its great review and we were not disappointed! Chris & David welcomed us very warmly, offered us a welcome drink and gave us loads of tips and ideas to do in their lovely city. The room was clean, very presentable, and located at the back side of the building. The property is located in the city centre, around 10 minutes walk from the central station and many more. Breakfast was self service, abundant and full of choices. Thanks guys for the great weekend. We will be back. This is a great break for us!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Tulip of Amsterdam was a perfect cap to a month of train travel in Europe. Staying in a home that dates back to the 1600s was a unique experience while providing up-to-date accommodations. Our 3rd floor room was spacious with charming antiques, a table & chairs and a small refrigerator, the contents of which were complimentary along with a nice bottle of wine. We felt welcome the moment we arrived and appreciated the tip on a nearby non-tourist restaurant as well as touring via the canal boats. The kitchen was set for breakfast each morning with fruit, breads, juice and excellent coffee and teas. The guest refrigerator was filled with cheeses, cold cuts, and freshly cut ingredients for making your own omelette ... all the conveniences of home.

We were delighted to have help carrying our luggage up to and down from our room early the morning of our departure. David and Chris are thoughtful, gracious hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Me and my wife went to Amsterdam for a couple of days before going to a family reunion in Germany. Choosing to stay at Tulip of Amsterdam B&B made the experience of visiting this wonderful city not only pleasant but one that we want to repeat.
Not only we were received with joy and care but we were also taken care of as if we were family. An example: I can't drink cow milk, and usually, when staying in hotels, I don't find alternatives, like soy milk. Here they bought it for me. They say it wasn't a big deal, but it really was because it made my breakfast more enjoyable and this kind of attention and care is proof that these guys really know the concept of hospitality. It really is a home away from home. We loved the fact that it is a real dutch house, we loved our room, we loved the bottle of wine, we loved the location, we loved the breakfast, we loved the people, we loved Tulip, we loved Amsterdam.
We left Tulip not saying 'goodbye' as in most places but saying 'See you soon, my friends!!'

P.S: David & Chris (… and Loytje) are the best hosts you could find in any country in the world!

Room Tip: just send them an e-mail, they will answer you and give all the help you need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We arrived at 11pm on a Sunday night, however after emailing the owners after our booking, we were expected. Someone was available to meet us upon our arrival, and went over our plans for the next few days and were given helpful advice and recommendations, as well as a map with key locations highlighted.

Our room was up a single flight of very steep stairs, which may be difficult for anyone less mobile. The room was incredibly well equipt, with a DVD player, hairdryer and straighteners. The DVD player worked for the European region, so DVD's taken from the UK work.

We were given a complimentary bottle of white wine upon arrival, and our room was stocked with breakfast cereals and bars, as well was soft drinks and tea and coffee. After our late arrival, these touches were incredibly well appreciated.

The hotel's location is extremely convenient. The red light district is across the canal opposite the B&B, and Dam Square is only a five minute walk away. The B&B is a roughly 10 minute walk away from Amsterdam Central Station and the owners gave us clear instructions on how to reach the B&B from the station.

I would wholeheartedly recommend the Tulip of Amsterdam B&B and it is likely that we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip of Amsterdam B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.