We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Save Saved
You added Tulip of Amsterdam B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Chris and David were helpful in every way, from storing luggage to carrying luggage up the "Dutch staircase" to providing maps, train schedules, restaurant recommendations, wine, and breakfast food in our room to facilitate our verrry early morning trek to Alkmaar cheese auction. Great location, close to everything even a cab stand right outside the door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
138
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We stayed 4 nights with Chris and David and found they were excellent hosts, very welcoming and could not have been more helpful. We wanted to stay in a central area of old Amsterdam, in an old style of house, and the Tulip of Amsterdam was the perfect choice for us, complete with a very friendly house cat! Very quirky interior, but well appointed and a fun place to stay. We had the room at the top, back of the house which was quiet and had the added novelty of vaulted ceiling timbers! Breakfast was very sociable, sharing the dining kitchen with other guests, as you prepared your own breakfast from a vast selection of hot and cold food. We know where we will be staying next time we are in Amsterdam, we can't recommend it highly enough, thanks guys!

which included the National Holiday on Saturday for 'Kings Day'

Room Tip: When we were there the Kings Day events made the area very noisy at night in the lead up, so a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife, Spain
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hi all
We stayed for a week and I can´t thank enough Chris & David ( the lovely owners ) for everything. The room was really nice, breakfast was amazing, Chris even took the time to buy chocolate cake for my girfriend and many other details after asking for our tastes & preferences.What to say about location . This was my third visit to Amsterdam and this location is honestly unbeatable. 1 minute away from the Red Light district and still quiet and classy . It´s right in the Niewmarkt surrounded by cafes and really close to the Chinatown were you have tons of great restaurants if you are a foody like us !. EVERY QUESTION we had they answered us always willing to help us and they made us feel like home. I really recommend this place and will defitinetly stay there every time I go back to the city . Thanks guys for everything and keep the good work :) !!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Nice place to stay. A little noisy early mornings because of birds nest near the window.
Located in the heart of city. you don't really need public transport even for Amsterdam central station..
Very nice owners and great hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great location, wonderful hosts. Comfortable accommodations. The printed instructions made it easy to find this jewel of a B&B. No detail was overlooked. Marvelous breakfast, a great cafe next door and dozens of good restaurants very nearby. Hop on the tram and in a few minutes you are viewing the greatest art treasures in the world. In a word, Perfect

Room Tip: Buy a 3 day pass for the tram, cheaper that way
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Due to a flight delay, we arrived at the Tulip for a midnight check-in. Chris welcomed us with a much appreciated bottle of white wine. He invited us in and made us feel right at home. We've never encountered such a gracious and welcoming host.

Loytje is the the hotel entertainer and the star of the establishment. We have fallen in love with him and would've liked to spend more time with him.

The rooms are beautifully designed but beware of the steep stairs. If you find it hard to cope with the typical Amsterdam staircase, this one won't be an easy ride, particularly if you've just returned from a visit to one of the nearby coffeeshops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake district England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just come back from a one night stay in the tulip of Amsterdam b&b , it is a little gem , absolutely fantastic . It's like home from home . Rooms lovely and clean and just love the complimentary wine and drinks / snacks in your room . The self service breakfast is great , there is everything you can think of from fresh fruit to cold meat and cheese . The owners Chris and David are really nice and couldn't do enough for you , it was like staying with old friends . We are already planning a longer stay in Amsterdam and will not consider staying anywhere else but tulip of amsterdam b&b . Really worth 5 stars .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip of Amsterdam B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.