We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip of Amsterdam B&B to your Saves list
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Totally fabulous place, warm, comfortable, relaxing, welcoming, friendly and the most adorable cat:) I never want to stay anywhere else again. Well done guys for creating the wonderful home you share.

Helene xx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    36
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
32
212
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Tulip of Amsterdam and we liked the place. It's just a 10 minute walk from the railway station, 1 minute from Red Lights district and is located on one of the central squares. The building is quite old, with authentic wooden stairs and floors, the rooms are elegant. They rent out bikes, which was very convenient for us. The breakfast is self-serving but quite decent.
A good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a large Dutch room and were so happy with everything!! Chris and David were so incredibly helpful, warm and inviting! After a long day and a half of traveling we immediately felt relaxed and calm upon our arrival at the Tulip of Amsterdam. They gave us a map and recommended restaurants and points of interest. Breakfast was incredibly fresh & delicious! We don't have a bad thing to say about this place. We highly recommend this B&B!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We loved this perfectly located b&b right in the center of all the action! The pros: wonderful hosts who give you the lay of the land and offer advice on whatever you would like to do in town; the front door opens up onto a large square with something going on all the time; walking distance to all the sights (red-light district, Anne Frank house, ect); they do not cook breakfast for you, BUT they have all the tools available to make your own including a fantastic Nespresso coffee machine for lattes and espresso.

When other reviewers say the stairs are steep, they mean it. Heavy luggage would not be your friend in this place. If you know how to pack, you will be fine. I'd say the one downside would be the bed, which was not super comfortable. However, the positives far outweigh the negatives and we would definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at the dutch room of Tulip b&b for two nights and had the best time! The room is spacious, bed is big, and decor is easy on the eye. Its comfortable, private, and welcoming. Even though they say there's no breakfast, they still stock up on coffee, tea, eggs, cereals, etc. The location is great too. I'm notorious for getting lost and its good that they are located right next to the Niewmarkt. I was worried about the steep stairs because of my luggage but David went out of his way to really welcome me and bring my luggage up. They answered all my questions about what to do and where to go in Amsterdam. Best of all, Chris even went shopping with me for cheese! I was missing the Philippines at this time but because of Chris and David, Tulip really felt like home...This is (Pinoy) hospitality at its best! :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
formby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The location, the welcome and the attention to detail are all superb. Chris and David are great hosts - nothing is too much trouble. A warm and welcoming atmosphere right in the centre of town. Top Class.

Room Tip: We had the "Large Dutch Room". As it says - plenty of space and very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Look no further if you want a great place, in a great location with great people like Chris and David to help you enjoy a great city. The rooms were so tastefully appointed, much better than many 5 star hotels. A bottle of wine, juices, etc were complimentary. The beds were really comfortable, which is not that usual in Europe. It has old world charm with new world amenities. Loved it and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip of Amsterdam B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.