We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B in Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Save Saved
You added Tulip of Amsterdam B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous B&B in Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I can only concur with the other reviews on this site. Stayed at the Tulip B&B for three nights and found this a great experience. The B&B is in a beautiful 17th Century Dutch House, very well located for all the main sites of Amsterdam, yet it still retains quiet rooms despite being at the centre of the action. The Dutch Room in the attic was superb, great space, added little touches of drinks and snacks in the room, and lovingly decorated. (the stairs are very steep, but the website does communicate this so it was no problem for us)
Breakfast is self service and there is everything you'd need, and served in a lovely dining room at the back of the house. Breakfast is served 8am to 11am if you need a welcome lie in!
Chris and David the hosts made us feel very much at home, welcoming us with a drink, giving advice on attractions and restaurants, they really have the guest as priority. They also have their own 'ambassador' for the B&B in the shape of Loytje their sweet cat, who sits in the window, and also comes and visits you on most occasions!! As cat lovers this was an extra reason for our enjoyment of Tulip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    18
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
138
16
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at the Tulip for three nights. The location was excellent. Chris and David had great recommendations for sights, transportation and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the Tulip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I was a little skeptical when every review of this place was so highly rated. I can understand why. The location of Tulip of Amsterdam B&B is phenomenal. The house is so charming, although a little difficult to maneuver the stairs. The bathroom is definitely a tight squeeze. We did not get to meet David, but Chris was wonderful and so very helpful. Our bed was extremely comfortable. The floors squeak a little and I could hear the pipes thru the night. I am a light sleeper, so I was more sensitive to this than most people. Chris did an excellent job of stocking the refrigerator with great foods for us to enjoy our breakfast in the morning. This B&B has all the charm you would expect and I would highly recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Everything was within walking distance; museums, Amsterdam’s unique attractions, shops, restaurants, boat trips, a Sunday vintage market right near B&B in Nieuwmarkt, the Central Station and when we were tired the Nieuwmarkt subway station was right around the corner.
The Tulip of Amsterdam is an old Dutch house full of character which was refurbished with good taste and very clean. There is light everywhere. The breakfast room had a modern equipped kitchen where we cooked our own breakfast almost every morning. There was something to satisfy anyone’s taste. The room was welcoming, comfortable, good looking with friendly colours. I was very pleased with the clean and the nice smell of sheets and towels. The bathroom was functional, provided with everything you need. I am that kind of person who needs to drink a coffee first thing in the morning, so to have a Nespresso machine in the room was really handy. We always found water and juices in the fridge, and different types of teas and coffees as the room had been serviced every day.
Chris and Dave are very lovely and helpful people. When we arrived Chris gave us a map and answered all our questions with enthusiasm, raising our optimism.
I recommend this place for its friendly atmosphere, cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This place is a must when visiting Amsterdam. Chris,David and Lotjie (the house cat) make you feel right at home. There were four of us including our two older children. We stayed for just four days and truly wished it could have been longer. Not only did we love this gorgeous B&B, it was the perfect location. Only a few minutes to everywhere , perfect spot if you like to walk to all the attractions. Although the Tulip of Amsterdam is centrally located, with a canal and restaurants and cafes right outside your door, it is surprisingly quiet inside.
Our rooms were lovely, decorated in traditional Dutch Style. Breakfast was included with our rooms and "WOW". We were absolutely spoilt for choice, couldn't ask for a better way to start the day. What else can we say, this gorgeous little Dutch house will not disappoint you, especially while being looked after by Chris and David. Thank you for making our time such a memorable one. We only hope we may return one day. Greg, Natasha, Nardine & Connor

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, then these rooms would not be suitable. But if it is just a case of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Chris and David are great hosts. Loved the doing your own breakfast as we normally slept late. It is an old canal house with lots of charm. We had the room with the tulip pictures. Room was a good size but be aware that the bathroom is on the small side but they've done the best they could for such an old house. Also there is lots of hot water but you have to let it run for a bit to warm up. Few people have mentioned stairs, yes they are steep and narrow but reminded me of our cottage. So had no issue with them. The cat is lovely, he even cuddled with me one afternoon while I was having a rest before dinner giving me my fix as I was missing our guys. Place is centrally located, rooms in the back so quiet. Very comfortable and I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We did hear person above walking around when they were in, take top floor room if you can't hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Wow, this little b and b really was incredible. Stayed for three nights for a short break. It's very central and a great base to explore Amsterdam. David and Chris couldn't have been more helpful, letting us check and early and giving us maps and lots of advice.

The room we stayed in was a newer room - I think it was called the Emerald room. It was gorgeously decorated and almost like having a little apartment. It was very peaceful and we felt very much at home there. I'd highly highly recommend this b and b - one of my favorite places I've ever stayed. Our room didn't include breakfast but we were provided with many snacks so we didn't really need it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip of Amsterdam B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.