We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Amsterdam Choice Near Major Attractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip of Amsterdam B&B to your Saves list
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Amsterdam Choice Near Major Attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My friend and stayed at Double Dutch during a visit to Amsterdam. It was affordable, very clean and a quentessential Dutch guest house. The staff was very friendly, helpful and there was even a public computer for guests to use. I appreciated this since we were traveling from the US and I could email my family. We stayed on the very top floor room and the bathroom was a little thrown together but it was clean and the room was extremely spacious. The location is superb with easy access to restaurants, bars and attractions!! We walked everywhere from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    36
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
211
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had the most enjoyable visit to Amsterdam over the weekend of 16/17 June. Made so, by the Tulip of Amsterdam.

Conveniently located, excellent rooms -deocrated to make them feel almost personal, a good host, a relaxed eating environment- all go to make The Tulip of Amsterdam a must-stay place.

This place is highly recommended. A pleasure all round.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

we stay over a weekend in this b&b. they have amazing location, almost in the city centre. Chris and David make as feel so special, we really didnt want to come back home. we already planning a new trip to Amsterdam. really what a great, great place. I wish i could stay longer.

Room Tip: Excellent location, great value for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Tulip of Amsterdam for a few days and couldn't have been happier. The location was perfect, the room was clean and cozy and it offered everything we needed. I especially enjoyed the satisfying, yummy breakfast :) I also want to say thank you to David and to Angelo for all their help.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The Tulip was the best B&B I stayed in my whole trip. David made sure we were well taken care of and had everything we needed. Even when we had a very minor problem with our building, he immediately dealt with it and even brought us some wine to apologize for our problem. Breakfast is serve yourself but there were tons of choices and lots of yummy traditional dutch items (such as chocolate sprinkles for your toast!). The room was a decent size and the bathroom was bigger than most I have seen. The room was so well decorated in the traditional Dutch style it really added to the experience. The stairs are quite steep so be wary, but we found it more entertaining than difficult. The location is perfect as it is only a max 10 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal train station and steps away from the Niuewmarket, Chinatown, Red light district and more. Even though they are close to the areas, the place still felt safe. its on a quieter lane with less shops and more apartments. If you are looking for a quaint, traditional apartment right by everything in downtown Amsterdam, this is it. Great hosts, room, location and experience. We cannot wait to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Just back from Amsterdam and stayed in the tulip with my daughter and her friend. David made us feel very weclome when we arrived with his helpful tips and great little touches like Nesppresso machine in the bedroom. The house is lovely and bright with big windows ..... and heating .... even in June as the weather was miserable. Spotlessly clean and looks as it has just be done up as they only took it over lately . The bedroom was to the rear and the only sound was the bells from the nearby church ( but not through the night thankfully) Lovely breakfast room had flowers, well stocked fridge and even lighted candles on the table. Location great on the canal just near the Nieuwmarket but just out of the Red Light area! and yes there is a resident cat.... they seem to be everywhere in Amsterdam sitting in pubs, hanging around tables inside restaurants etc.
Glad we stayed there it was like home from home s :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I was extremely happy that we selected this B&B. The location was great, both for access to the train station, and for exploring around the wonderful city on foot. David, one of the hosts was very helpful, providing a map of Amsterdam, and pointing out the different areas of the city that we would want to visit. The room was very comfortable, nicely decorated, and had all the amenities one would expect. It provided a wonderful typical 'Amsterdam' experience. One note, the stairs are very steep as one would expect, and this could be a problem for someone who is shaky on their feet. Breakfast was lovely, and provided a good start to the day. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,829 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip of Amsterdam B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.