We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barangay guest house GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tulip of Amsterdam B&B to your Saves list
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“Barangay guest house GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

it was great. Typical small multiple flight of Ne stairs, otherwise GREAT. We had the loft unit. Loved it. The guest host who lives there was very nice and gratious. He said the other Barangay place was even better but we liked where we were. Central excellent location to AMS.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    36
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
32
210
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Both the room and the hosts were amazing. Exceptional service with a friendly and helpful staff that make you feel like you're home. We also loved the cat. :)
The Double Dutch (and Barangay B&B) is recommended to everyone planning a visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

My honey and I, and another couple stayed at the Double Dutch for four nights in April. Since there are only two en-suite bedrooms, besides the room for the person that maintains the place, we had the whole place to ourselves; definitely a plus. The Double Dutch is not a B&B since breakfast is not served; you either stock your own or go to one of the many cafes in the immediate area. From a location perspective, excellent, on a pretty canal, next to a lively square, in the heart of happening Amsterdam.

I am finding it a little difficult to write this review because among the four of us our feelings about the Double Dutch were split between the guys and the gals. The guys found the place interesting, quirky, comfortable, and convenient. The gals probably would have preferred a more "up-scale" place, though I am not sure that is the right word, sine they also liked the Double Dutch. There biggest issue for them was the next door fish market, associated smell (only outside; not in the apartment), and the accompanying garbage piled in front. Us boys overlooked or ignored that, for the most part, given the positives mentioned above. The immediate area of the square also tended to have accumulations of garbage because of the weekend market in the square; expected to some degree; and the market itself is a plus, so, good with the bad.

We all found the cat to be a nuisance; ensuring it did not run out of the place when we came or went; keeping it out of our rooms; or off our laps when sitting in the living room; scratching at our clothes and luggage; and cleaning up after it, the one time it pooped in the living room. But cat people will probably love the critter. (I am not sure if when I made the reservation I knew there would be a cat or not - though it is mentioned in some of the other reviews).

Lastly, my wife and I found our bed uncomfortable (room on top floor); the other couple were ok with theirs.

I think that my buddy and I would not have a problem staying here again; our wives would not stay again. I rated the Double Dutch as very good, but it is probably, for us, somewhere between average and very good given the differences of opinion.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I decided to take our first trip to Amsterdam. We book the Double Dutch before we left the US. We both feel like this B&B absolutely MADE our trip to Amsterdam. When we arrived we were greet by Wimo (the owner). Wimo is such a nice guy and he helped us with any questions we had about Amsterdam. He gave us the keys and we could come and go as we pleased. The location is PERFECT. Sooo close to everything. If you are thinking about booking. YOU SHOULD!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our room was very spacious with a very small bathroom. The stairs and windy and steep but worth it.
Ed greeted us and was very friendly and had great tips about the city.
I would recommend this hotel and stay there again if in Amsterdam.
There was free wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Double Dutch is in a great location, close to Centraal station. Although central the B&B is not in the crazily busy area of Amsterdam where all he tourists & stag parties congregate. Zeedijk is a street very nearby where there are lots of nice restaurants & bars (mentioned in Time Out Guidebook). We were greeted by Ed who was super friendly & gave us a map of the area & told us were the good restaurants were.
Our room was very spacious with fridge, tea & coffee making facilities & a small but very nice bathroom. Everything was very clean & decorated in a quirky & charming way. The rooms are at the back of the house so are peaceful. We made friends with the resident cat who is very sweet.
The kitchen downstairs was well equiped & a nice place to make your breakfast as none is provided. There are lots of lovely cafes nearby though.
I would definitely recommend this B&B.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

This was the first time I have been to Amsterdam, and it was great. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk from the Central station. When we arrived we were greeted and given maps and shown to our rooms, they were up quite steep stairs but this is what most bed & breakfasts are like as they are traditional dutch houses. The rooms were each decorated differently with different dutch themes. Very nice. We didnt have breakfast but this didnt bother us as there are so many eating establishments around this bed and breakfast, There is use of a fully equipped Kitchen and a little outside Patio area in the middle of the house for smoking. Just a walk over two little bridges and you are in the heart of the red light district and only about 15 mins walk Dam Square, we went to Anne Franks house whilst in amsterdam which is a must.

I would use this bed and breakfast again but would also like to stay in its affliated hotel the Barangay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulip of Amsterdam B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip of Amsterdam B&B

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 9 HS, 1011 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip of Amsterdam B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cosy B&B located in the heart of the historic city centre. The impressive monumental house is full of charming features and has recently (2012) been renovated. The spacious and quiet guest-rooms are decorated in unique Dutch style and have an en-suite private bathroom, coffee and tea-making facilities and complimentary water and Nespresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Tulip of Amsterdam B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip of Amsterdam B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.