We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Nice Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malaysian restaurant Wau

Malaysian restaurant Wau
Zeedijk 35, 1012 AR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 421 2487
Improve this listing
Ranked #716 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $11 - $31
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Indonesian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Malay restaurant serving halal food (we do serve alcohol, Tiger beer, Gulpener and wines). In a modern romantic atmosphere we serve eg charcoal grilled satay's, laksa, curry with roti, vegetarian, nasi lemak, rendang and nasi goreng.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Such a Nice Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband and I were roaming the streets looking for something to eat. This can either be an experience or just a pain in the butt when you're tired, and tired of eating out. We just agreed to this place cause it was close to Crowne Plaza Hotel where we stayed and were tired of walking. I ordered the Curry Laksa (curry coconut noodle soup) as my entree and my husband ordered the Kari Ayam (chicken curry w/sweet potatoes, potatoes, onions and okra) for his. Highly, highly, highly recommend both. Only down side is that there was one waiter. While we ate a perfectly relaxed dinner, we did have to finally bring our bill up to the bar and ask to pay as the waiter was too busy to come back to our table. The waiter, however, was very friendly and competent, just too much for one guy. Would def make this a staple restaurant if it were in my own neighborhood.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    34
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good but possibly a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Very nice Malaysian restaurant, food was of a very high standard and house wine was quite nice as well. Satay for starters was excellent and would recommend it. Overall a nice place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wim van der Meer
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Satay (saté) at Malaysian restaurant Wau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Five minutes walk from the Central Station on Zeedijk you will find Wau, a Malaysian restaurant specialized (though not limited to) in Satay, what in Holland is usually spelled Saté. A full satay dish of your choice will cost about 18 euros and includes some 12-16 satay skewers. There is a wide choice, including vegetarian. And here kambing is really goat, not lamb as is the case in most Indonesian restaurants in Amsterdam. Great. There are the common varieties like chicken, beef and shrimp (no pork though) and specialties like lamb liver. Very tasty! I greatly prefer the Malaysian satay sauce over the common dutch/indonesian one. It's tastier and less gooey. But there are many other dishes as well, including some vegetarian. Price is very good, I've eaten quite a few times here now and spent 30-35 euros including generous doses of the excellent house wine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Tasty satay! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

The reviews weren't lying. The satay here is very very good. This is also the only place I know in Amsterdam that sells Tiger beer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

On our short trip to Amsterdam, we came across this lovely little restaurant. Inside decor is very pretty and food portions generous. I had the satay mix as a main and it was definitely very tasty and presentation was great.

The staff were lovely also, would definitely come back next time I'm in the city.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaysian restaurant Wau also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Malaysian restaurant Wau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malaysian restaurant Wau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.