We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Art Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Art Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Art Gallery Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ok for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

close to main touristic attractions, just across the rijksmuseum, free wifi, the staff was ok...but just minimal facilities, small room, shared bathroom (a very small toilet-room and a very small and stinky shower-room) and poor cleaning; there was this unpleasant smell in the room...and the stairs are very steep; overall good location, not cheap and I wouldn't stay more than one night.

Room Tip: don't choose rooms with a shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    93
    89
    55
    71
See reviews for
30
140
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The single great thing about this hotel is the location, however, it's expensive, the rooms aren't clean and the shared toilet and shower are terrible. On the bright side, the front desk receptionists are helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Beware of sq mt when you choose the room, they vary from extremely tiny to small/medium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Hotel is very well situated, right in front of the Rijksmuseum. The staff is also very nice and helpful. BUT: Rooms are really tiny and there's almost no space for the bags. There's a narrow stairs and no elevator. Shared bathroom, not very clean. Should be an hostel, or much more cheap! (we paid 100 euro per night)

Room Tip: The rooms' pictures you find online are totally different from the real hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for four nights and was wary of some of the negative reviews. The hotel is clean, the staff is speedy friendly and the location is fantastic. It's about a minute walk from the museum quarter, 5 minutes to Vondel Park and restauraunts and bars and a 15 minute walk into Central Amsterdam. The hotel was good quality for the price paid and I would recommend it for friends travelling and a sightseeing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

It was a year ago I stayed here but i felt it was worth to add a review because i see some mixed comments. I think these may come from those chosing the cheapest rooms and expecting the best deal. We stayed in a double room and I was quite satisfied. This hotel is in no way perfect but i get the feeling that unless you pay the big bucks in Amsterdam its unlikely you will find something perfect. This hotel has an excellent location (close to everythibg and only €30 to airport), rooms were comfortable although not quite as clean as I would like. Staff were helpful. It was good value for money for the budget traveller and i recommend to those with families (with a caveat that there are very steep stairs as is usual in Amsterdam) as long as you pay a bit more for a good room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We got a cheap deal online and paid £180 for a triple room for 3 nights, yes it was up some steep stairs but in Amsterdam just about every building has steep stairs so I don't know why so many people are surprised! Our room was clean and comfortable, basic but exactly what we needed for a weekend sight-seeing break. A stone's throw from all the sights, and with friendly, helpful service from the attendant on front desk

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
291 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel only one night but it was ok! actually the room that we had was not that good since it was next to the bathrooms since the other person who I was travelling in stayed in another one and that one was great! anyway the hotel was good!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#227 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#234 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#218 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#254 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#253 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#283 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Gallery Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Art Gallery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.