We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Gallery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Art Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Art Gallery Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #249 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We got a cheap deal online and paid £180 for a triple room for 3 nights, yes it was up some steep stairs but in Amsterdam just about every building has steep stairs so I don't know why so many people are surprised! Our room was clean and comfortable, basic but exactly what we needed for a weekend sight-seeing break. A stone's throw from all the sights, and with friendly, helpful service from the attendant on front desk

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    50
    50
    26
    32
See reviews for
15
78
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed at this hotel only one night but it was ok! actually the room that we had was not that good since it was next to the bathrooms since the other person who I was travelling in stayed in another one and that one was great! anyway the hotel was good!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I arrived to the room and the bed had sheets that hadn't been changed since the last person was in the room. Besides having visibly dirty bed sheets, the bed wasn't even made, the duvet had just been thrown over the dirty and messy sheet covering the mattress that was basically showing half of the mattress off. The private bathroom was nothing like showed in the picture. The shower curtain hanger was being held by wires and was almost falling. The shower itself was only 1cm lower than the bathroom floor level, making it get completely filled with water after a short shower. There was a small squeegee behind the toilet seat, I assumed with the purpose to drag the water back to the shower, which didn't help that much. The following days the bed sheets weren't changed and the bed wasn't made, apart from the duvet thrown on top of the bed pretending it was made of course. The towels were changed. For the price I paid I guess I can't expect much. Location wise it is amazing because is 5 minutes walking from the Leidseplein where there are good tram connections, the club jimmy woo and one of the bulldog coffee shops. Across the canal from the Rijksmuseum and the IAMSTERDAM sign at Museumplein. DO NOT BELIEVE THE PICTURES. It is definitely the dirtiest hotel I've even been to and shouldn't be rated as a a two-stars hotel, I've seen hostels better than that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This was booked by my university's travel agent who told me everything was booked up for the weekend for price I had a budget to pay from my project funds, and this was all left and would I mind sharing a bathroom. I went for it since the pictures I was sent were lovely. But first I had the cabbie charge me almost double of what the hotel said it would cost to get there by driving all over the place and not using his Nav (why not?) Then I get there and there are these ridiculously dangerous staircases and no lift - almost totally vertical staircases that are narrow in both directions and I though I'd fall backward down the stairs with my heavy bag - I had to go to the 3rd floor! Then the room is a shoebox that barely has the small bed and a small desk, and wardrobe and a sink. I'm not a big person but it was way too cramped. Then when trying to sleep the walls are paper thin and the people next door were out late and back at 4 am and talking very loudly and slamming doors. Then others were up at 7 doing the same - so the first night I was trying to catch up on my sleep before a very intense weekend conference and meetings, I got 4 hours sleep. The next night was better and I knocked myself out with a drowsy allergy pill, but the pillows were terrible and seem like they were bought at a charity shop. I asked for them not to clean the room as I've had things stolen in hotels that went into my room while away and I don't trust maids, but they refused and cleaned it anyway, even though it wasn't dirty. Then the last night was horrible and noisy again and I had no more allergy tablets to knock me out. Terrible. Health and safely alone of the staircase is bad enough, but the noise and quality was terrible and it was 80 Euros a night - shame ! not better than student dorms or a hostel.

Room Tip: Don't go there unless you are under 30 and don't need to sleep and are strong enough to haul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Me and a few friends stayed at this hotel early march this year.
The hotel was nice and central, staff were friendly and all in all it good value for the money.
However, when I checked my bank statement there was an extra charge which had been taken from my account the day I got back to England. I tried to contact them through email and have still had no response from the hotel.
If you do stay at this hotel, be sure to check your card statement on the card you gave when booking the room.
This created a disappointing end to a good trip.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Literally THE WORST HOTEL I have ever been to. Please see my other review for full description. absoloute worts staff absoloute worst service rooms , so disgusting I had to leave and they charged me, promised theyd give me my money back and then took more. had to wait 4 hours for a room which when i FINALLLLLLLY was allowed in, there were 4 towels n the bathroom rubbish on the floor the door was open, the bed had no sheets but dirty brown covered sheets on the floor and a tipped over bin with rubbish on the floor. AFter being told heck in was AT 1pm and coming bakc every hour on the hour and being told to come back constantly. then charged for this? I stay in hostels worldwide bu tthis is legit the worst place i have ever dealt with, staff included. I would rather sleep in teh gutters of the red light district naked then ever come back to this place...for real do not give them your money.

Room Tip: Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room" Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koszalin, Poland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel is a good value, it's quite clean, the staff is very helpful... but... the state of bathrooms is really poor and the stairs... ah... you have to be quite fit or take rooms downstairs ;) To sum up, I think it is worth the money:) Very good location, close to restaurants, pubs and coffee shops :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Gallery Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Art Gallery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.