We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Gallery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Art Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Art Gallery Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

On my second tripto Dam I stayed in the Art Gallery Hotel, it was beautifully cheap, we had own room but shared bathroom, own entrance and key. Only downside was its traditional Dutch style staircase which were very steep and we were on the top floor.. all adds to the fun! Rooms were clean and comfy, only saw staff once to check in but very friendly. The hotel on the south side near Vondel Park and Rijksmuseum so very easy to get everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    69
    75
    41
    50
See reviews for
22
110
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nice small hotel on good location, near to museums. I was stayed 3 night in February 2014 with my friend. Kind stuff,small rooms,worm...you have everything for short staying in Amsterdam. Good value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We've spent 3wonderful days in Amsterdam with my girlfriend, staying in Art Gallery Hotel. We were looking for a place close to the city center for a reasonable price. Art Hotel was the perfect choice. No fancy stuff just the basics what we needed. Nice and clean room on the top floor with everything we needed.(The housekeepers changed our sheets every day, and made our stuffed foxes cuddle each other on the pillows..cute idea, thank you :) )
Amsterdam center is about 15minutes walk, Heinekken brewery 5minutes, Hard Rock Cafe 5minutes, reastaurants and coffeshops, supermarkets nearby.
Oh, and the guy at the reception was really friendly as well! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Do you respect yourself? Is cleanliness important to you? If so, stay elsewhere. I don't ask that they dust the room after every stay, but, once a week would be nice. Bring an extra pair of socks to wear in the room and an extra shirt to use as a pillow cover. Don't even think about sitting down anywhere. The shower curtain had mold on it... Last I checked, this was not healthy. In the United States, this place would be closed by the Health Department. On a positive note, the location is great which works out since you can't wait to leave right after you walk in.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had booked a room with showers in the room. They had 2 rooms with showers. One behind the reception (and prone to noice from the reception). The other one in the cellar which we took. And then we had the noice from the kitchen from early in the morning. Very warm room and even with the window open all too warm for a good sleep

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel itself is nothing fancy, but if you want to spend whole day enjoying Amsterdam, this is the spot for you. It is really close to all the main attractions and public transportation. As the other contributors mentioned, it has very steep stairs. The staff is friendly and willing to help. The price of the room is the main reason I will not complain about its size and cleanliness. If I ever go back to Amsterdam I will be back at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Gallery Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Art Gallery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.