We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean? Not so much.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Art Gallery Hotel

Save Saved
You added Art Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Gallery Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean? Not so much.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Do you respect yourself? Is cleanliness important to you? If so, stay elsewhere. I don't ask that they dust the room after every stay, but, once a week would be nice. Bring an extra pair of socks to wear in the room and an extra shirt to use as a pillow cover. Don't even think about sitting down anywhere. The shower curtain had mold on it... Last I checked, this was not healthy. In the United States, this place would be closed by the Health Department. On a positive note, the location is great which works out since you can't wait to leave right after you walk in.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    35
    38
    19
    26
See reviews for
9
63
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had booked a room with showers in the room. They had 2 rooms with showers. One behind the reception (and prone to noice from the reception). The other one in the cellar which we took. And then we had the noice from the kitchen from early in the morning. Very warm room and even with the window open all too warm for a good sleep

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel itself is nothing fancy, but if you want to spend whole day enjoying Amsterdam, this is the spot for you. It is really close to all the main attractions and public transportation. As the other contributors mentioned, it has very steep stairs. The staff is friendly and willing to help. The price of the room is the main reason I will not complain about its size and cleanliness. If I ever go back to Amsterdam I will be back at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and found the hotel a pleasant surprise. It was excellent value for money and so I wasn't expecting more than a bed and somewhere to keep our things. What we found was a lovely room with an amazing view. A shared bathroom and kitchenette. Which we found very useful for a quick snack. The only fault isn't really a fault more a friendly tip. If you can't manage a few flights of very steep stairs then this isn't the place for you. We counted 60 steps to our room some of which were a bit scary but it added to the fun vibe of our trip to make a game of it. If you're on bikes it's a great location for those on foot it's a bit of a walk to the main tourist areas but across the street from the museums.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firenze, Italia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I went in Amsterdam for two days and booked this wonderful hotel. I reserved for a twin room with private bathroom. The room was essential but clean and with all the comforts.
This hotel was the best choice we could have done: it was next to the most important museums of the city, not far from Vondelpark and just two minutes far from Leidseplein, the part of city with the best cafès, restaurants, shops; moreover it was very easy to move from the hotel to any destination in Amsterdam thanks to the tramway stop.
The receptionists were kind and helping, we spent beautiful minutes by speaking with Lidia, the receptionist who welcomed us. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Thank you!!! If we will be back in Amsterdam we will for sure book again in this hotel.

Room Tip: Book the room with the private bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend recently stayed here on a long weekend break. The location itself is really great....right beside the rijksmuseum, van gogh museum and the lively areas of leidesplein and rembrantplein. The staff were helpful over the course of our stay and pleasant to deal with. The room itself (a deluxe double) was quite clean and there was a lovely view of the rijksmuseum and an excellent shower. However there was a vaguely unpleasant smell coming from the bathroom....I think this may have been due to the extractor fan not working....not good in a bathrooom with no window. The towels are exceptionally small which perhaps is the norm in holland but is personally a pet peeve. Also due to the fact that we faced onto the street there was some issue with noise at night as the hotel seems to be on the main thorough fare to the hospital and the ambulances are fond of blaring their sirens irrespective of the time of night.
The stairs are exceptionally steep but we had read that and as we had only hand luggage it wasn't such a big deal......I would definitely not recommend for those who may have restricted mobility or if you have masses of luggage. In the room the wifi reception was sporadic at best and seemed to work optimally in the lobby. Overall considering the price I still think this hotel offers value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing onto the street for a view of the museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Best Value, Bud...
Show More
Museumplein
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#199 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Charming, Airpo...
Show More
Rembrandtplein
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#216 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Jordaan
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#221 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#267 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
City Center, Bu...
Show More
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#210 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Museumplein, Bu...
Show More
Museumplein
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#181 of 343 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Gallery Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Art Gallery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.