We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE TO GOOD” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Art Gallery Hotel

Save Saved
You added Art Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Art Gallery Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    40
    22
    26
See reviews for
11
65
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was great, the bed was absolutely comfy, the room was in the front of the building and it was very quiet, the man at the front desk was very helpful, one of the days we missed the time for the breakfast 8-10am, we arrived at 10:10am but he kept it up for us, such a nice thing to do. Thanks amigo!

The only one thing I didn't liked was the smelly bathroom. Other than that was great.

This hotel is very close to the Rij and Van Gogh museum, one block away. and like 500 mts of the tram stop. Not too bad if you are carrying one piece of luggage.

One Tip, as soon as you get off the Tram at Leidseplain stop, locate the Apple store Sign, and walk into that direction. I didn't find it as easy as in the instructions in their website, so maybe this will help you :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I just returned from a 4 day stay in Amsterdam and I have to say that this is a great place to stay. The staff is eztra friendly and nice and the acomodation is more than great. We (me and my wife) took a double room (1 big bed) and i have to say that it was the comfiest bed i had ever slept in. The room was clean, we had a tv which aired comedy central and the bathroom (even if we had to share with others from the floot) was nice. Hot shower, clean towels, everything you need. The hotel is very close to Jardaan, the canal ring , red light district and museums and it is definetly worth its money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We explained to Peter that we had missed our flight and we will arrive a day late. When we arrived staff were extremely helpful and friendly, they understood the hardship of our travel and offered us a free breakie and late check out (and hour extra). Although the room wasn't fantastic (small double room) and had a distinctive smell (which we didn't really notice after an hour in the room) it was clean and accommodating. Those of you who are extremely fussy, don't chose this place as the bathroom wasn't great, although the toilet was clean. You get what you pay for. Yes the stairs are very steep which some people have mentioned but I think a lot of places in Amsterdam have steep stairs. Overall, we had a good experience at the Art Gallery Hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick the small double room as it comes with a private bathroom, I understand some of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel is very close to Hard Rock Cafe and Apple Store. The personnel was very helpfull and positive. They have standart rooms with poor bathrooms but room and bathroom were clean. No elevator at the hotel. Small and cozy ambiance

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights during the weekend and the location of the hotel is perfect, close to the Leidseplein and Rijksmuseum. Tea and coffee facilities are very good. Friendly staff. Free working WiFi. Room we stayed in was not very clean.

Room Tip: Very steep stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I wanted a cheap room for a night in Amsterdam. This is one of the worst hotels I have EVER stayed at. Don't trust the pictures. The rooms are a lot worst than what you see in the pictures. The room we stayed in was dirty and small. The bathroom was so disgusting that I opted for using a public toilet in cafes. I didn't even think of taking a shower. The stairs to get to the 1st and 2nd floor are incredibly narrow (classic Dutch style), therefore getting luggage up there is very difficult. No lift. The location is okay, but there are much nicer and more centrally located areas- so I don't think it has much of advantage. It is extremely over-priced. Just stay away!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Gallery Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Art Gallery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.