We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“certainly not art gallery,” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Art Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Art Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
Art Gallery Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“certainly not art gallery,”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

clean and comfortable, and great location, but a little imagination to the decor would have been nice plain white walls throughout made it rather drab, over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    88
    85
    52
    60
See reviews for
27
127
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Smiling and helpful team.
Silencious and comfortable rooms.
Hotel is just between the museumplein, with the rijkmuseum, vangogh museum, the vondelpark and the heineken brewery, and leidseplein, where you can find anything you want to eat.
My stay has been perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The location is perfect, less than 5 mins walk from Leidseplein and from there you take tram 1,2 or 5 to the central station in 10-15 mins. The Hotel itself is a a nice, clean place and the staff is very friendly. But one minute after check-out time, the cleaner knocks on your door!! The bathroom is simple but clean and sufficient. Small stairs indeed, but do-able. In the end you only carry your luggage twice, so it's do-able. It is however an old building, so nearby closed doors and upstairs walking you will hear. But only three rooms shared our hallway, so not much people walked by. But for the money I paid, I did expect a bit more... But overall I didn't regret it and I would go here again (if they lower their prices a bit ;-)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked in for an overnight stay in Amsterdam.The hotel is in a good location close to lots of the attractions. However that is the only positive thing I can say about this hotel. We were shown to our room which was in the basement of the hotel. It was a tiny room with 2 single beds pushed together. The room was dark and smelt of damp. Everytime someone used the toilet/shower/sink in the rooms above you could hear the water going through the pipes. The toilet didn't work proprly as the flush button kept getting stuck. The shower was just a drian in the corner and a shower curtain. Our room was close to the breakfast room and we were woken up at 7am by hotel workers and other guests getting their breakfast. It was so noisy that it was impossible to get back to sleep again. It was definately not worth the 90 euors we paid for the room, what a rip off. Thankfully we were only staying one night, if we had booked to stay longer we would definately have moved to another hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We can't wait to come back!!! Till next time in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had a good stay in this hotel. The hotel is perfect located in between the big museums and the outgoing area (Leidseplein, big bars, clubs etc.).

The hotel is cosy, they have little rooms in the lower areas. But also big, rooms higher up in the hotel. For this price you are perfecty located in a very old, Amsterdamish place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

I just returned from 2 nights in this hotel and it was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. When we arrived, the sheets and bathroom were dirty (hair in the sheets and dirty kleenex and urine smell in bathroom) and we could barely fit our luggage into the room. We booked a double bed and were given two single beds with no explanation or apology when we mentioned this to reception. The staff was extremely rude and were not helpful when we asked them for directions or advice. The room was in the basement where you can hear everything through the thin walls, especially the guests and staff in the breakfast room. To top off this horrible experience, they accused us of eating breakfast when we checked out (which we didn't eat) I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.....DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#220 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#251 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#229 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#278 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#221 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#276 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 67, 1017 RX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Gallery Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Art Gallery

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.