We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Save Saved
You added Le Quartier Sonang to your Saves list
Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“True hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

if you plan your dream trip to Amsterdam you should definitely stay at Le Quartier Sonang. Great room. Quiet. Comfy bed. Clean bathroom. Lovely furnishing. Excellent breakfast and last but not least the B&B owners - Oki and Frank who make your stay perfect :-).An unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
181
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayern
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

If you prefer the anonymity of a grand hotel with a large pool, business center and 24 hours room service please don't bother these two gentlemen. But if you care for little details as they do (like fresh flowers with breakfast every morning), thoughtful furnishings, a lovely neighbourhood and personal recommendations for activities and restaurants don't look out for any other place to stay in Amsterdam. Le quartier Sonang just can't be beaten. In fact this must be the place where true hospitality was invented...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

My husband had booked this absolutely charming B & B for my birthday week-end. In fact I would call it a Boutique Luxury B & B. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed with a warm and friendly Frank with a glass of wine. He gave us a map and some fantastic recommendations for places to eat and drink which we followed and were not disappointed. The room we were given was absolutely charming, luxurious, spotlessly clean and very tastefully decorated. All the little personal touches were so special. When Frank & Oki found out it was my birthday we came home after our 1st night to a bottle of bubbly in our fridge and chocolates and a wee note on our pillows, so sweet of them. The breakfasts are to die for, both healthy and delicious, Oki is champion boiled egg maker! Both Frank & Oki want to give their guests the best possible experience and we did! Lovely comfy bed too! The B & B is in a fabulous area which is in a lovely quiet residential area and close to many tourist attractions. We would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam for a very special experience. Thank you Frank & Oki, Katharine & Walker xx

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

It is true to say that, with the Trip Advisor gradings, expectations must be very high, but it is also the case that what is on offer is very very good. Oki and Frank have obviously worked very hard to refurbish the rooms to a very high standard. Breakfast is excellent (and I'm still trying to work out how Oki managed to deliver a boiled egg on one morning that was perfectly cooked, something that most hotels etc can't manage). The breakfast is obviously the product of considerable care & thought, and this is reflectedn in the whole product. Two things though (and to be fair it's something that the proprietors can't really affect); first the stairs are steep. This is common, as far as I could see, with Dutch houses. Second, the walls and ceilings aren't that thick so you can get some spillover of noise from adjacent properties or the flat above. This is a fact of life, I suspect, for Amsterdam, but I think that if anything the room at the front is a bit quieter than the one at the back. But don't let this put you off; this is a quiet neighbourhood only 10 minutes walk to one of the main tourist areas. The bed is exceedingly comfortable. And trust the recommendations for local eating places given to you by Oki and Frank: they know what they are talking about.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

After reading the reviews here we had very high expectations. We are pleased to report that these were easily surpassed. Frank and Oki were excellent hosts from the moment we arrived.

Breakfast in our room was a real treat, with different fresh fruit every day and fresh bread and croissants too. Our breakfast table had a different flower on it every day, which was a lovely touch.

The room was very comfortable, with plenty of space to relax, a wonderful bed and modern bathroom. The location was in a quiet neighbourhood close to the museums. We followed Frank and Oki's recommendations for restaurants and enjoyed excellent meals.

The three days in Amsterdam passed all too quickly, due in no small part to Le Quartier Sonang.

Thank You!

Ray and Bridget

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful hosts -- made us feel like we were home! Frank and Oki took great care of us and made us so feel welcome. We got to experience life in their wonderful quiet neighborhood as a local would - they pointed us to their favorite restaurants and cafes, all within a few blocks. We tried 3 of them -- they were all great. Amazing Italian food -- I even got an fantastic morsel of lardo outside of Italy!

Their location is fantastic -- within walking distance of all the big museums, the art and antique galleries, prime examples of the beautiful Amsterdam school architecture, and the fantastic Leidseplein square full of movement, restaurants and clubs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was a fantastic location, in a quiet neighborhood, and close to the locations we really wanted to see. Oki and Frank were great hosts, and provided tips on restaurants, shopping and tours. We walked about a mile and toured the Ann Frank house in the late evening and the lines were minimal. The Van Gogh museum and Rijkmusesum were close by (1/2 mile) which was great. The boat trip on the canal was well worth it, and the start was within a 10 minutes walk. We took a short trolley ride to see an iconic windmill (De Goyer) that was amazing. One of the best meals we've ever had was at the Cafe De Klos, another short 1/2 mile walk into the city. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit... the room was great, the heated bathroom floors, the expresso machine, the breakfasts served to the room were excellent. This is great location at a great price! As you can tell we thoroughly enjoyed our visit!

-Doug & Sandy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two comfortable guestrooms at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located only five minutes away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, P.C. Hooftstraat, all famous museums and the concert building. And after a day in the city, you are going to have the most exciting experience in you life. You’ll be sleeping on a cloud! We have the best beds in Europe. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Quartier Sonang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.