We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oki and Frank couldn't try harder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Oki and Frank couldn't try harder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

It is true to say that, with the Trip Advisor gradings, expectations must be very high, but it is also the case that what is on offer is very very good. Oki and Frank have obviously worked very hard to refurbish the rooms to a very high standard. Breakfast is excellent (and I'm still trying to work out how Oki managed to deliver a boiled egg on one morning that was perfectly cooked, something that most hotels etc can't manage). The breakfast is obviously the product of considerable care & thought, and this is reflectedn in the whole product. Two things though (and to be fair it's something that the proprietors can't really affect); first the stairs are steep. This is common, as far as I could see, with Dutch houses. Second, the walls and ceilings aren't that thick so you can get some spillover of noise from adjacent properties or the flat above. This is a fact of life, I suspect, for Amsterdam, but I think that if anything the room at the front is a bit quieter than the one at the back. But don't let this put you off; this is a quiet neighbourhood only 10 minutes walk to one of the main tourist areas. The bed is exceedingly comfortable. And trust the recommendations for local eating places given to you by Oki and Frank: they know what they are talking about.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
166
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

After reading the reviews here we had very high expectations. We are pleased to report that these were easily surpassed. Frank and Oki were excellent hosts from the moment we arrived.

Breakfast in our room was a real treat, with different fresh fruit every day and fresh bread and croissants too. Our breakfast table had a different flower on it every day, which was a lovely touch.

The room was very comfortable, with plenty of space to relax, a wonderful bed and modern bathroom. The location was in a quiet neighbourhood close to the museums. We followed Frank and Oki's recommendations for restaurants and enjoyed excellent meals.

The three days in Amsterdam passed all too quickly, due in no small part to Le Quartier Sonang.

Thank You!

Ray and Bridget

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Wonderful hosts -- made us feel like we were home! Frank and Oki took great care of us and made us so feel welcome. We got to experience life in their wonderful quiet neighborhood as a local would - they pointed us to their favorite restaurants and cafes, all within a few blocks. We tried 3 of them -- they were all great. Amazing Italian food -- I even got an fantastic morsel of lardo outside of Italy!

Their location is fantastic -- within walking distance of all the big museums, the art and antique galleries, prime examples of the beautiful Amsterdam school architecture, and the fantastic Leidseplein square full of movement, restaurants and clubs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was a fantastic location, in a quiet neighborhood, and close to the locations we really wanted to see. Oki and Frank were great hosts, and provided tips on restaurants, shopping and tours. We walked about a mile and toured the Ann Frank house in the late evening and the lines were minimal. The Van Gogh museum and Rijkmusesum were close by (1/2 mile) which was great. The boat trip on the canal was well worth it, and the start was within a 10 minutes walk. We took a short trolley ride to see an iconic windmill (De Goyer) that was amazing. One of the best meals we've ever had was at the Cafe De Klos, another short 1/2 mile walk into the city. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit... the room was great, the heated bathroom floors, the expresso machine, the breakfasts served to the room were excellent. This is great location at a great price! As you can tell we thoroughly enjoyed our visit!

-Doug & Sandy

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This was our first visit to Le Quartier Sonang and, like other tripadvisor reviewers, we feel very fortunate to have stayed here. The location was perfect - quiet, but also in very easy reach on foot or by tram of all the places we wanted to get to (lots, to make full use of our Holland Passes!). Our room, facing the street, was comfortable and light and the breakfasts were delightful (to look at as well as eat). Above all, Oki and Frank were wonderful hosts, welcoming and attentive without ever being intrusive. We very much appreciated their helpful tips on places to visit and to eat and also the thoughtful extras, such as the espresso coffee maker in our room and the chocolates waiting for us on our return each evening! We would strongly recommend this as a place to stay in Amsterdam and hope we can return some day soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The praise others have heaped on Frank and Oki, and their outstanding B&B, is fully deserved in every respect. Even more so is the care, understanding, and flexibility they demonstrate when things do not quite go to the traveller's plan. My arrival in Amsterdam was very nearly not to be, courtesy of extreme winds in the UK, but Frank and Oki kept in close touch with reassuring emails. When I finally arrived, somewhat later than planned and after an extremely turbulent flight, their greeting was genuinely warm and welcoming, and, despite never having met them before, I felt instantly that I was in the home of close friends. Although my stay was initially for work, my partner was due to join me for the weekend. The next set of high winds in the UK thwarted that plan altogether. Frank and Oki were so sympathetic and understanding, which went a long way to making me feel better about my change in circumstances. They set me up with plenty of recommendations for walks and sights, and I had a truly delightful time.

I should add that the neighbourhood is pleasant and quiet, and yet still extremely conveniently located to both the heart of the city and the museum quarter. As a petite female, I am normally wary of walking around urban environments at night on my own, but the residential location of Le Quartier Sonang is reassuring.

I look forward to returning to Frank and Oki's care and having that romantic weekend get-away in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had decided on this B&B due to the great recpommendations on tripadvisor and must say that everything was just as great as all the favourable reviews made us expect: an excellent room (front room to the street but quiet) and excellent service, most friendly hosts with a lot of helpful tips for eating out and the sights of the city. The location in the heart of Amsterdam near the Vondelpark and Museumplein is perfect for exploring Amstedam by foot and a lot of restaurants are nearby. After a day of walking around the city you find all the amenities you need to relax and feel right at home in this lovely B&B. Oki and Frank made our stay a very pleasent one and we are looking forward to being back some time this year!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two comfortable guestrooms at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located only five minutes away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, P.C. Hooftstraat, all famous museums and the concert building. And after a day in the city, you are going to have the most exciting experience in you life. You’ll be sleeping on a cloud! We have the best beds in Europe. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Quartier Sonang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Le Quartier Sonang to your Saves list