We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you, Oki and Frank” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Save
You added Le Quartier Sonang to your Saves list
Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Thank you, Oki and Frank”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Termi kasih. Hartelijk bedankt. It has been the best decision we have made. 5 Stars is not enough. We stayed 3 nights and we wanted to stay longer.

The attention to detail, hospitality and comfort is absolutely amazing. Businesses should take note, as Oki and Frank have mastered the art of hospitality. What makes LQS the best is that it just IS. You will understand it as soon as you walk through their door. Their restaurant recommendations are top-notch.

We stayed in our room more than we expected. It was just very relaxing and comfortable.
We would take walks and see the sights, come back for some hot tea and a little rest in the room during the afternoon. We then venture our for dinner (there are various restaurants close by).

It was just great to lay back and enjoy the serene, beautiful and cozy environment that Oki and Frank have established. Their B&B utilizes eco-consious and sustainable materials.

You can read all these reviews of what Oki and Frank has done. I have one more thing to add under the "attention to detail". They even provided a "tea steeping" 3 minute hourglass timer. REALLY. They are that great.

A Heartfelt thank you. Terima kasih, Oki and Frank for making our anniversary an absolute special one.

Room Tip: Any room. Book ASAP. They only have 2 rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
260
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

We have recently spent 3 nights at Le Quartier Sonang and have no intention of staying anywhere else when we return to Amsterdam. The genuine friendliness and warmth extended throughout our stay by Oki and Frank exceeded all our expectations. The location is perfect, our room was excellent with the most comfortable 'cloud' bed providing us with some of the best sleep ever. Oki and Frank's knowledge of Amsterdam and their recommendations for dining out are first class. Amsterdam is a beautiful city and Le Quartier is a fantastic place to stay. We can't wait until our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Le Quartier Sonang sets the bar high, far surpassing prior stays we've had at b&bs in North America. Set in a quiet location with the Jordaan and Nine Streets districts in very close walking distance, Le Quartier Sonang has many things going for it: modern and stylish amenities and furnishings, the comfiest bed that blessed me with my first uninterrupted sleep in a long time, and a fine attention to detail- from the in-room Nespresso to the slippers we were gifted with. Our hosts Oki and Frank kindly spent time with us going over the sites of Amsterdam, helping us make the most of our 2-day stay. Whenever our travels take us back to Amsterdam, we will most definitely return to Le Quartier Sonang.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

There are many reasons this fine establishment consistently receives the highest rankings from virtually every visitor.
Oki and Frank personify kind hospitality. They could not have been more gracious,friendly, helpful and welcoming during our memorable 3 day visit.
This and every other five star ranking they have received are totally appropriate and well deserved.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I spent five nights at Le Quartier Sonang in October: two nights on the front end, a four night trip to Belgium in between, and then another three nights at Le Quartier on the back end of our trip. Returning for the second stay felt exactly like coming home because Oki and Frank made us feel that comfortable and welcome. To the many kudos posted by the other reviewers, we would add that these lovely and clean accommodations are very quiet thanks to Oki and Frank’s attention to detail that includes soundproofing. For a memorable Rijstaffel, let Oki make dinner reservations for you at Tempo Doeloe. No matter what kind of traveler you are, this is THE PLACE to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was my first visit to Amsterdam and I went with the tripadvisor ratings in choosing this B&B for out two night stay. Actually, it was even better than expected. This small (two rooms) property is on a quiet street within easy walking distance to the major museums and a few blocks from the trolley. We arrived by train and immediately bought three day trolley passes which turned out to be a great idea, as we were able to travel about at will without additional expense. Upon arrival, Frank and Oki spent time with us, giving us a map and showing us the places of interest. They continued to be around when needed and were extremely helpful. The room was great. We had the room in the front, overlooking the street, but the location is so quiet that it wasn't a problem. The bed was comfortable and the room was spacious and included a flat screen tv and a nespresso machine. A lovely breakfast was served in the room each day. The bathroom was spotless and modern. We couldn't have been more pleased and will definitely stay here when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here. Do not hesitate to book this B & B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our stay at Le Quartier Sonang was indeed quite pleasurable. 5 nights of comfort thanks to the hosts (Oki and Frank), the offerings of the place and the perfect location.

The location - properly situated in a quiet residential area close to main attractions and transportation. The place is less than a 5 minute walk to almost everything: the tram stops, restaurants, and stores (both shopping and groceries). The location makes sites in Amsterdam easily accessible.

The place - the bedroom is perfectly sized for two people. We chose the room facing the courtyard - Kamar Bidadari - it was extremely quiet. We were very comfortable with the space. It is warmly decorated with tasteful flavor. Small fridge capable of holding bottled liquids, two chairs and a table, a lounging chair, flat screen tv, Nespresso machine. The balcony has sufficient room for two people - it was quite relaxing to sit outside during the cool October weather. The bathroom is one of the best my wife and I have seen - heated floors, very clean, strong water pressure, water temps adjustable to whatever you desire, fixtures up to date with modern flare - very nice! Breakfast is served promptly by Oki. A healthy tray of croissants, butter, cream cheese, jam, fruits, yogurt and juice, all these always properly adorned with fresh flowers in a vase. After a day's tour of the the town, a sweet surprise greeted us daily upon our return - pieces of chocolate on the very comfortable coco bed.

The hosts - extremely warm, very helpful and full of information on Amsterdam and the nearby areas. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Oki then by Frank, both of which provided plentiful information on good restaurants, access to transportation, maps, and brochures of Amsterdam. We mentioned what we wanted to do and they immediately had suggestions and recommendations on how to get there. My wife and I wanted to see Kasteel de Haar - a castle more than an hour away from Amsterdam. Frank provided accurate information on trains and bus number(s) to get to the castle. Each day, they would check if we needed anything for our next day activities. They would go out of their way to provide information - if they didn't know, they would find out. An example of the hosts' attentiveness to the needs of their guests - one evening we came home with a bottle of wine and some beer only to realize we did not have anything to open them with. The next evening, upon our return, wine glasses, and a bottle opener were provided - we didn't have to ask. Their hospitality is the best compared to all the other Bed and Breakfast places we have been to. We cannot express our gratitude for such a commendable job Oki and Frank did (do) as hosts. We arrived in Amsterdam as vacationists - we left feeling like we were leaving good friends. That's how Oki and Frank made us feel - welcomed to the utmost degree.

If and when we do return to the Netherlands and Amsterdam, we will surely stay here again - no doubts or questions asked!

Room Tip: Steps to the room(s) can be quite steep for some. Just take your time going up or down. Such is li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two luxury mini suites at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located in the middle of the museum, fashion and theatre district and only five minutes’ walk from the Canal Ring. The Canal Ring was awarded UNESCO World Heritage status in 2010 and to this day, the city’s biggest celebrations such as King’s Day and Gay Pride take place on the canals. ‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a true lifestyle B&B where hospitality does not spring from duty but only from kindness… We look forward to meeting you in the near future... ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Quartier Sonang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.