We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deservedly No. 1” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Quartier Sonang

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Quartier Sonang
Save
You added Le Quartier Sonang to your Saves list
Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€125 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Coulsdon, Surrey
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Deservedly No. 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is not just any B&B, this is the top-rated B&B in Amsterdam! All the excellent reviews are well deserved and my husband and I are happy to add another after spending two nights here.
Easy to reach by bus from the airport and well located for the museums and the lovely 'Nine Streets' area, yet tucked away in a quiet residential street, you feel less like a tourist, more like a local.
What makes this B&B so special though, is the warm welcome of the owners, Frank and Oki, whose hospitality and thoughtfulness are outstanding. The attention to detail is apparent from the excellent website right through to the rooms themselves.
Our room, Kamar Bidadari, was bright, comfortable and spotlessly clean and had a balcony which must be a real sun trap earlier in the year. The beautiful bathroom is spacious with quality fittings, under floor heating and lovely, fluffy towels. There is a fridge, kettle and Nespresso coffee machine, so you can make your own coffee or tea to go with your breakfast which is brought to your room at a time of your choosing between 8.30 and 11am. Oki does the breakfasts which are so nicely presented - along with the freshly squeezed orange juice, dark Dutch bread and croissants there is thick, Greek yoghurt with fresh fruit, prepared and decorated with mint sprigs, and there are always fresh flowers on the tray - and in the room. When you return in the evening, curtains have been drawn, lamps lit, dirty cups washed and put away and chocolates left on the pillows. I did find that the bedside lamps were hard to read by, but the bed is so ultra-comfortable that you are asleep before you've turned a page anyway!
Frank and Oki give you all the information you need about their lovely city as well as recommendations for restaurants. We liked De Italiaan which is only 5 minutes away, and The Seafood Bar which is only a little further.
We love Amsterdam and we love Frank and Oki! Looking forward to our next visit...

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely - Chambre de Ville looks onto the street and is slightly larger with two easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
219
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

i have to start this review by telling you i never wanted to really go to amsterdam! my bf talked me into it. i had a lot of preconceived ideas of what amsterdam would be... and i am here to tell you. nothing like what i expected. what a brilliant city... of course i love it. they love the color orange.. i have orange hair!LOL<<<one of the main reasons is i did my homework and managed to find oki and frank here on trip advisor. i pride myself on doing thorough research when i do travel and all i can say is" god! i'm good! lol what a great location. beautiful street i felt like i was more of a local in this neighborhood. very easy to access musuems we walked everywhere and when we didnt their trams are close by and easy to figure out. i have to say i miss amsterdam i would like to go back in the spring time. october was a bit wet. that was the only minor glitch. i absolutely loved the boys home. i enjoyed the heated bathroom floor. bed was very comfortable and it was very quiet. sooo many beautiful flowers in their house.. very sweet and helpful and not overbearing but really enjoyed meeting and staying in youre lovely home! miss you xoxo see you soon!!!

Room Tip: any of their rooms would be wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Le Quartier Sonang is your home away from home. It is in a quiet residential neighborhood within walking distance of the museums and the Jordan and Nine Streets. Frank and Oki treat you like old friends, which is so wonderful when you are traveling. The rooms are both fantastic, one looking out on the street, the other on a garden. They have thought of everything from the very comfortable bed and pillows, heated bathroom floors and towels, coffee and tea in the room, to the delicious breakfasts served in the room. Our every need was met at every part of our 3 day stay. Frank and Oki, thank you so much for your hospitality. We look forward to returning to Le Quartier Sonang the next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying with Frank and Oki in late August, as the first stay on our long holiday through Europe and Turkey. After a long flight from Australia, Frank and Oki were waiting with offers of drinks and welcoming advice on all the best things to see and do in Amsterdam. As detailed in all the proceeding reviews, the neighbourhood was quiet and safe, our room Kamar Bidadari was excellent and spotlessly clean, great modern bathroom, the breakfasts prepared by Oki were varied and superb, and the warm and animated chats with both gentlemen became a daily highlight of our stay. Le Quartier Sonang should certainly rate as the no. 1 B&B in Amsterdam, because I doubt anything could be better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Coming upon a unique place like Le Quartier Sonang is one of the reasons I use Trip Advisor. We arrived in Amsterdam and were delighted to find we were staying in an attractive neighborhood in a non-tourist area. An area that was still very convenient to everything, particularly Museumplein. We received a warm welcome from Frank and Oki. It was so helpful to have them start out by sitting us down and presenting us with a map of the city. They proceeded to inquire about our interests and plans and helped us map out our itinerary for our three day visit, including places to eat that we might enjoy.

The room was scrupulously clean, spacious, bright and airy and our hosts made certain we had everything we needed. The breakfast was perfect, and we could make our own coffee and tea. We tried the restaurant suggestions and we had some of the best meals of our trip. I would expect anyone who stays here will be as pleased as we were.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just got back from our first trip to Amsterdam, this place has to be the best bed and breakfasts I have ever stayed !!!!. Oki and Frank should give themselves a slap on the back because they are the definitely the hostess with mostess!!! They make you feel very welcome with the utmost sincerity in all that they do. After a good day out it was nice to come back to that felt like home and safe, the area was lovely and quiet In a leafy street that would remind you of little Venice in London.the bed was amazing and I kid you not that it's the best bed I have ever slept in- we have ordered one from coco mat and having it shipped to London!!!!!!! It's that good. Thanks for everything and we will see you both again soon. Mark and Sam

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 3 nights at Le Quartier Sonang and left being completely satisfied with our experience.
I won't add to the numerous compliments on the bed. It is part of the total package that didn't disappoint either of us.
The location is ideal - just outside the center of action by a few minutes walk. The museums are a close walk and the central train station is just a short tram ride.
Frank & Oki are great hosts with many practical suggestions for getting the most out a few days in a wonderful city.
We will stay there on our next trip.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Quartier Sonang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Quartier Sonang

Address: Derde Helmersstraat 47A-Hs, 1054 BC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Le Quartier Sonang’ is a peaceful, quiet townhouse in the most popular district of Amsterdam. The two comfortable guestrooms at the first floor in this 19th century original townhouse are located only five minutes away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, P.C. Hooftstraat, all famous museums and the concert building. And after a day in the city, you are going to have the most exciting experience in you life. You’ll be sleeping on a cloud! We have the best beds in Europe. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Quartier Sonang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.