We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Cuyp Market

Albert Cuyp Market
Albert Cuypstraat, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Albert Cuyp Market like an insider
Special Offer
$66*
and up
Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans...
Ranked #115 of 526 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The city's largest street market is just south of the city center.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spent a perfect Saturday morning shuffling along Albert Cuyp Straat, where you find the fabulous streetmarket, a must for anyone who likes markets and in particular, fabric, as the street is lined Is with many fantastic fabric shops. There's also fabulous baked goods, juices and smoothies, clothes, bags, leather goods, cheese, flowers, clothes. It's a wonderland. Dotted with cafes for a sit down and a pancake. I love this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    209
    113
    32
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Neat market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I'm a fan of all things eclectic, and definitely found it here. Sure, there's an abundance of second hand fake fur and dinged up cheapass 80s memorabilia, but it has a certain charm.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fantastic street market in the heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Albert Cuyp Market is a very unique area to check out. They sell everything from handbags and clothing to food and household goods. The market spans a good two to three blocks. It was great to wander amongst the stalls and to purchase fresh squeezed orange juice, herring and fruit smoothies. It took me about two hours to cover the entire market,

I would definitely recommend taking a nice walk through this famous Dutch market. Don’t forget to get a fresh smoothie while you’re there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great for a wander”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent an hour or two wandering up and down the length of the market on a day trip to Amsterdam. Quite a lot to browse but not loads of bargains. Nice fresh fruit and other foods including a juice bar type stall which was very welcome on the hot day we were there. We managed to find an Ajax shirt which pleased my son! We walked down to the market following a map, and got a tram back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good street Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The no 16 tram drops you right at the start of the markets they start about 930-1000. If you get there early look across the street to a little café on the corner - the name is something to do with bagels can recall exactly.

We found the stall holders to be very friendly the food produce expansive and the shoes, bags(we got 2 for 10euro each), scarfs jackets watchs all of an standards.

We spent about 2.5 to 3 hrs just wandering and shopping.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert Cuyp Market also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Albert Cuyp Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Cuyp Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.