We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic street market in the heart of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Cuyp Market

Albert Cuyp Market
Albert Cuypstraat, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #18 of 118 shopping in Amsterdam
Type: Flea/ Street Markets
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The city's largest street market is just south of the city center.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic street market in the heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Albert Cuyp Market is a very unique area to check out. They sell everything from handbags and clothing to food and household goods. The market spans a good two to three blocks. It was great to wander amongst the stalls and to purchase fresh squeezed orange juice, herring and fruit smoothies. It took me about two hours to cover the entire market,

I would definitely recommend taking a nice walk through this famous Dutch market. Don’t forget to get a fresh smoothie while you’re there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    128
    67
    21
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great for a wander”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent an hour or two wandering up and down the length of the market on a day trip to Amsterdam. Quite a lot to browse but not loads of bargains. Nice fresh fruit and other foods including a juice bar type stall which was very welcome on the hot day we were there. We managed to find an Ajax shirt which pleased my son! We walked down to the market following a map, and got a tram back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good street Market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The no 16 tram drops you right at the start of the markets they start about 930-1000. If you get there early look across the street to a little café on the corner - the name is something to do with bagels can recall exactly.

We found the stall holders to be very friendly the food produce expansive and the shoes, bags(we got 2 for 10euro each), scarfs jackets watchs all of an standards.

We spent about 2.5 to 3 hrs just wandering and shopping.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
141 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Different than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Firstly, the website said the hours were 9 - 5, but when we arrived at 9:30am on a Monday, less than 20% of the vendors were present, and only half of those fully set up. We thought we would wander and buy food for breakfast, but for the first half of our wandering, nothing was open. Eventually we found a stand just warming up the grill with Poffetjes, and then one with fresh orange juice and finally bought some berries from a produce stand. Most of the stands were not geared towards tourists, but locals. Lots of produce, fresh fish, meat, cheese, spices, toothpaste, deoderant etc. If we were spending a week in the city, we would shop here, but as a tourist, we didn't need most of what was there.

It is possible that the market had more to offer later in the day (like fresh food from stands!) but it was hard to know having gone so early. I would try again on my next visit, but this time go closer to lunch, when hopefully more is open.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“6-day/week mmarket: variety & the 'barra delight' that keeps mme going back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Albert Cuyp Market is long and there is a lot of variety. Mmy immpression is the mmajority of the stalls are set up by the stores that line the street. That being said, you can find treasures and bargains when you keep your eyes open.

The real draw for us is the 'barra' stall (delicious Suriname deep-fried bread.) We are quite happy to walk fromm west Amsterdam (about an hour's walk if you LEISURELY stroll) for this treat. Mmy Mmmichael says these are the best he's ever had! Our ultimmate disappointmment was the treks we mmade only to discover that she wasn't there. She doesn't set up in winter.

So ...get the ultimmate barra experience while you can! The 'barra-vrouw' is available Tues to Saturday at the Albert Cuyp Market.
isabelydancer00

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert Cuyp Market also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Albert Cuyp Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Cuyp Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.