We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable, but not many bargains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albert Cuyp Market

Albert Cuyp Market
Albert Cuypstraat, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$71*
and up
Amsterdam Super Saver 3: City Tour, Zaanse Schans...
Ranked #17 of 126 Shopping in Amsterdam
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The city's largest street market is just south of the city center.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, but not many bargains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

You can find anything in this market - food, flowers, clothing and those annoying bicycle bells. We enjoyed trying a few snacks and exploring the various merchandise. Everyone was friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    174
    93
    31
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fresh vegetables, flowers, and quirky shops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Like everything about it. Eat the fresh herring if you dare. Try to find "de pittenkoning" a shop behind the market stalls selling kitchen appliances.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We went there on a Saturday morning and ate delicious Waffles, chicken wings, flamish fries and drank fresh orange juice. It was one of our most delightful experiences on our four-day-trip to Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good morning out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited this market twice during our stay. Very easy to reach on the trams.
Loads of your usual market items for sale some cheap others not so cheap.
Would go again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Visit if you have spare time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Before we go we had high expectation about this, we thought we would see lots food, groceries and fresh produce there. It just turned out to be ok, things are common as you can see in HEMA or any other stores, and there are not many stands for food and produce. If you are searching for something special or bargin in Amsterdam, then maybe other places.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert Cuyp Market also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Albert Cuyp Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Cuyp Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.