We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT nearly close to a piece of the St. Petersburg Hermitage” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Amsterdam

Hermitage Amsterdam
Amstel 51, 1001 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
20 530 8755
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #44 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is an Amsterdam-based extension of Russia's famed Hermitage Museum.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“NOT nearly close to a piece of the St. Petersburg Hermitage”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Based on other Trip Advisor reviews, I was expecting to find a piece of the St. Petersburg Hermitage in Amsterdam. Boy was I disappointed! There are no Fabrege eggs or any other Russian historical pieces in this museum. The only thing that you will find at this museum are paintings and a few sculptures that were OWNed by Russian expatriates who were living in Western Europe, especially Paris. Beyond that, there are a few rooms reconstructed in the period and a downstairs kitchen that has been restored, but not much else in historical artifacts. Although the build appears to be big on the outside, the actual exhibition space in the inside is small because most of the building is occupied by a large courtyard. The EUR15 admission price is quite high for the little amount of art that is on display.

There is a free coat check inside the museum, but the guy who took my coat tore my coat when he took it from me and only responded with an insincere "So sorry." There was no remorse or sincerity in his expression.

You are better off go to the Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam Museum, Van Gogh Museum, Rembrandt House Museum, and Anne Frank Huis (House). Do not waste your time or euros at this museum.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    267
    86
    35
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goirle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“beautiful exhebitions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The exhibitions are regularly changing. A new on on the Silk route is coming very soon. We visited the exhibition on Gauguin, Bonnard, Denis which is now extended. Right in front of the beautiful old building you can take the boat for a tour through the Amsterdam Canals.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Enjoy Hermitage without visiting St Petersburgh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This museum is part of the Hermitage in Russia and the operators have done a wonderful job of transforming and old folks home into a museum. Enjoy the unique collections of art and also the history of the building.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This Amsterdam extension of the St. Petersburg Hermitage is housed in exceptional premises,light airy, spacious and beautifully renovated to house paintings. My visit coincided with an exhibition loaned from St. Petersburg on Gauguin, Bonnard and Denis. This was well documented and accompanied by appropriate, quietly played music as you walked from one room to another. Much information was available on the Nabis group of painters. There was no queue but this was February. Note that the exhibition has been extended into March.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We began our Amsterdam trip here and really good preparation for artfest to come. Different temporary exhibitions, so success of visit may depend on what is there. Silk Road coming up which we would visit if we were there! Bit of a swizz as it was called "Gauguin Denis & Bonnard " and there were only three Gauguins but glad we went. Denis' was good fun although a painter only casually looked at before. Story of building and building itself is interesting. One of best museums we visited in Amsterdam for art alone.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermitage Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hermitage Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.