We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful paintings - need an audioguide” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermitage Amsterdam

Hermitage Amsterdam
Amstel 51, 1001 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
20 530 8755
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Hermitage Amsterdam like an insider
Skip the Line
$48*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #99 of 544 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is an Amsterdam-based extension of Russia's famed Hermitage Museum.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful paintings - need an audioguide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent over a hour wandering around the Van Gogh (rehoused since the Van Gogh museum is closed) and the impressionists paintings. They are well laid out and easy to view and I was glad of my audioguide otherwise I would probably not have lingered on some of the paintings or appreciated them to their full extent. The museum was busy so I would recommend you find a way to skip the queue - either by buying tickets online (you need to know what day you're visiting) or doing as we did and buying a ticket from the Canal Bus ticket office (there are several located at Canal Bus stops). I think we could have got one from the hotel as well. This allowed us fast track access and we traded in our voucher for a ticket (avoiding the ticket queue inside as well) once inside.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    310
    104
    47
    21
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A very good collection of art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a good and very well laid out collection. Each piece has been well chosen and the details next to it are helpful. Second to the Rijksmuseum for art in Amsterdam and definitely worth a trip. Even non-art lovers will get something out of it. Book before you go to avoid the queues.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibits in a less-than-wonderful space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

If there was a score between "very good" and "average" then the Hermitage Amsterdam would get it... The art is wonderful - totally world class. With the Van Goghs on display for the time-being it is a phenomenal store of some of the best paintings there are. Simply fantastic. But... the gallery space is overall poor. The quadrangular design of the building leads to a succession of small - often very small - rooms aligned as continuous corridors. There is just not enough room to stand back or - as it is always packed with crowds - get up close. In fact, it feels that you are being "processed" through the exhibits. This really does detract from the overall quality of the experience. That said, it's a great collection and not to be missed. Book ahead on the internet to avoid the queues. The cafe/restaurant is quite pleasant too. And take the time to wander around the neighbourhood of Plantage (go to see the Hortus Botanicus)...it's a quiet and tranquil part of town...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Van Gogh exhibit wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Van Gogh Museum is closed and a wonderful exhibit has been set up at the Hermitage. It is definitely worth it - but do get your tickets ahead of time (you can do this online or you can go to the Diamant Museum and purchase them) - the line was quite long otherwise. We used the I AMsterdam card and that also helped us to bypass the long ticket lines.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleming Island, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I went to the Hermitage Museum on October 5, 2012. The Van Gogh museum was undergoing repairs and the Van Gogh's were temporarily housed here. We spent around 5 hours viewing both the Van Gogh exhibit and the Impressionists exhibit. I am a Van Gogh fanatic and my jaw dropped looking at the different paintings during Van Gogh's life. From the early Potato Eaters, to Blackbirds in a Wheatfield, the totality of Van Gogh's life can be seen. There are letters Van Gogh wrote to Theo on display as well. The audio tour says Van Gogh committed suicide, but the latest scholarship believes he was murdered by some teen age hoodlums in town that would taunt him. The Impressionist exhibit is marvelous and should not be missed. I love Impressionism and to see Monet, Cezanne, Manet, etc. on display was breathtaking. If you go, there is a sit down restaurant with table service near the cafeteria. If my wife and I noticed it beforehand, we would have eaten there, as the cafeteria selection was bland.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermitage Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Hermitage Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermitage Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.