We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Le Coin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Le Coin to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Location, Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

3 of us had a long weekend in Amsterdam and stayed at this very well-located hotel. Situated very centrally, a short walk from most of the major sights and areas of entertainment!

Reasonably well-priced, the rooms are modern in a traditional building. Friendly and helpful reception. We had a room on the top floor overlooking the Hotel De L'Europe. Main space had one bed, kitchenette, lounge area and bathroom. We also had a mezzanine area accessed by very steep steps. Everything very clean, bathroom shower very powerful, toiletries and towels provided. Sleep quality fine.

Plenty of nice cafes and bars nearby for meal times. Area felt safe.

Wifi signal excellent and very quick.

Would thoroughly recommend staying here. Having the kitchenette and lounge area made it feel like the best mix of a hotel and apartment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    80
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
43
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Each room has a different layout & has a small kitchenette & dining area. The staff are all friendly & knowledgeable. The hotel is reasonably priced & centrally located, so everywhere is within walking distance. I discovered this place in 2001 & have returned every year since then.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

It was a nice place. we got room on the Top floor and it was room for 3 with a unique design. Beds were nice and room was cozy. Shower was real nice. Location is ideal for every kind of trip. Staff was very nice and cooperative.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I suffer from analysis-paralysis when booking hotel rooms so I spent a lot of time reading reviews of this and other Amsterdam hotels. In fact, you will be happy here so stop wasting your time, people. The location was great. Right by Muntplein tram stop, v close to Spui and Dam Square. For meetings with the UvA it was exceptionally well located. Also, the room was very large compared to others I've booked in European capitols. The bed was comfy and the shower strong and hot (and a good sized tub, nice after a day in the chill). Coffee maker and little kitchen to keep your wine and cheese fresh! Spotlessly cleaned daily. Desk staff always jolly and happy to help. Only concern was noise outside windows at night, but you can't fault the hotel for the lively city. Also the de Jaren cafe is just a few steps away and a super place to dine outside.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We enjoyed our 5 days stay in early April, the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Our experience was great, the location is very central, the room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable, also the windows are sound proof so we had a really good night sleep. The shower worked great even though we took a gable here because we read other reviews. This place is highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare032
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to Dam Square and just a minute or so from a tram stop. There is also a nice little cafe/bar on the corner of the street which I would recommend. Our room was very quiet, even with the window open. The staff were friendly and helpful and we had help with our bags on departure. The kitchenette was useful but be aware that you need to request pots and pans from reception. Please note there is no oven, microwave or toaster in the apartment so cooking options are limited. There is an electric kettle but be sure to take tea bags if that's your tipple. There is a coffee machine in the apartment which serves really nice espresso. The beds were comfy and the shower was great. The water pressure was extremely high which is rare in a central hotel. There was a laundry room for visitors which is useful.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a city break. I do not think it is appropriate for those wanting a self-catering option for more than a few days.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We loved staying here due to it's central location - in walking distance of all the most popular bits of Amsterdam.
The staff were friendly & helpful.
We were lucky to be given the top room overlooking the canal. The room was spacious & comfortable with a TV showing some English channels, huge wardrobe, comfy double bed, good wi-fi connection, hearing floor (which we LOVED), full size bath/shower, huge window which could be opened fully to experience the sights and sounds of the busy Muntplein square & Muntorren below.

Highly recommended to all!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#134 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RHO Hotel
RHO Hotel
#142 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,573 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#196 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#205 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Le Coin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Coin

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Coin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Coin Amsterdam
Residence Le Coin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Le Coin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.