We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Helpful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Le Coin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Residence Le Coin to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Clare032
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location & Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. Walking distance to Dam Square and just a minute or so from a tram stop. There is also a nice little cafe/bar on the corner of the street which I would recommend. Our room was very quiet, even with the window open. The staff were friendly and helpful and we had help with our bags on departure. The kitchenette was useful but be aware that you need to request pots and pans from reception. Please note there is no oven, microwave or toaster in the apartment so cooking options are limited. There is an electric kettle but be sure to take tea bags if that's your tipple. There is a coffee machine in the apartment which serves really nice espresso. The beds were comfy and the shower was great. The water pressure was extremely high which is rare in a central hotel. There was a laundry room for visitors which is useful.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for a city break. I do not think it is appropriate for those wanting a self-catering option for more than a few days.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the courtyard for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
37
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We loved staying here due to it's central location - in walking distance of all the most popular bits of Amsterdam.
The staff were friendly & helpful.
We were lucky to be given the top room overlooking the canal. The room was spacious & comfortable with a TV showing some English channels, huge wardrobe, comfy double bed, good wi-fi connection, hearing floor (which we LOVED), full size bath/shower, huge window which could be opened fully to experience the sights and sounds of the busy Muntplein square & Muntorren below.

Highly recommended to all!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have stayed here many times through work and although at first you will find the geometry of the place unnerving, with steps up and down and even ladders to beds in lofts, the place is in a great location and is very friendly.

The hotel is a short tram ride south from the main station or about €15 taxi from the station taxi rank. It is located just a walk away form Rembrandts square and the flower market. You can walk to the Dam square with ease for restaurants and night life.

The hotel is situated in a block with the University and so there is a great little student bar below and small (real) coffee shops around.

The rooms are cosy and every one different. I have not stayed in the same room twice. Most look out to a side street and are not too noisy at night. Some have loft bedrooms. Most have sofas and living spaces.

Breakfast is a buffet you can pay in advance for. Its really quite good and sets you up for the day. If so inclined you can wander into the Rembrandtplein and get a coffee and cake for a few Euros.

There is an elevator but it is not suitable for families with small children given the climbs necessary. Although ask and they may have easier family rooms.

Room Tip: There is one with a balcony overlooking the canal on the second floor. Ask for a room without a loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Was here in September 2008 for about 3 nights.

A wonderful stay in a fabulous location where I walked to everything. It is very close to about 3 or 4 of the major tram routes..The rooms are simple, but of good size and the beds are comfortable. The hotel staffs were very kind and reliable.

This is not the place to stay if you're looking for luxury, but if you want a clean, affordable base of operations in the center of the city, this is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We enjoyed the picturesque location of this hotel. It is in one of the most central and picturesque area of Amsterdam.
The hotel is very basic. There is no carpet in the room, no safe, the internet is deficient. One needs to stay in the lobby for a better WI-fi connection.
The room was spacious however is not so well heated ( floor heating).
The staff is very helpful but there is usually only one person in reception, no porter so no assistance with the luggage. There is a lift which is helpful.
If one is OK with the basic needs this hotel could be an option.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms face the courtyard. Those facing the canals have the noise of trams running ince...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Me and the Mrs stayed here for two nights over new years. I must admit I was a bit dubious about the hotel before arrival. We arrived early morning and left our bags, we got told the room would be read from 12, 2 hours before advised! All the staff where very friendly and gave us some ideas on things to do during our visit. We stayed on the 4th floor, our room was of a decent size, very clean and extremely quiet considering the time of year! The bed was comfortable to sleep in. It was a bit of an adventure to get to our room, up the lift to the 3rd floor, along the corridor, up the flight of steps, through the door, right up the corridor, up the steps.... you get the idea. Worth the faffing around though, vaulted ceilings and a good overview of the local area! We are going back out at the end of April (this has been arranged for a few months now) and upon our return home 1st jan, we cancelled our hotel for April and rebooked at Le coin. The only thing I can really have a little moan about is that the heating in our room was underfloor heating, now don't get me wrong, warm feet straight out of bed is the one, but the room could have done with a radiator. It was warm and comfortable, but a little more warmth first thing would have been nice :) Oh and a safe would have been handy :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The check-in was very easy and fast. My room was on the second floor. It was big enough but was very cold. I was expecting a warm room because i already had walked 15 minutes from the cantraal station. There was no safe and no iron equipment. Bed was not comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Le Coin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Coin

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#55 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Coin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Coin Amsterdam
Residence Le Coin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Le Coin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.