We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Le Coin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Le Coin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Me and the Mrs stayed here for two nights over new years. I must admit I was a bit dubious about the hotel before arrival. We arrived early morning and left our bags, we got told the room would be read from 12, 2 hours before advised! All the staff where very friendly and gave us some ideas on things to do during our visit. We stayed on the 4th floor, our room was of a decent size, very clean and extremely quiet considering the time of year! The bed was comfortable to sleep in. It was a bit of an adventure to get to our room, up the lift to the 3rd floor, along the corridor, up the flight of steps, through the door, right up the corridor, up the steps.... you get the idea. Worth the faffing around though, vaulted ceilings and a good overview of the local area! We are going back out at the end of April (this has been arranged for a few months now) and upon our return home 1st jan, we cancelled our hotel for April and rebooked at Le coin. The only thing I can really have a little moan about is that the heating in our room was underfloor heating, now don't get me wrong, warm feet straight out of bed is the one, but the room could have done with a radiator. It was warm and comfortable, but a little more warmth first thing would have been nice :) Oh and a safe would have been handy :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    57
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
32
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The check-in was very easy and fast. My room was on the second floor. It was big enough but was very cold. I was expecting a warm room because i already had walked 15 minutes from the cantraal station. There was no safe and no iron equipment. Bed was not comfortable.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for a business trip and it was booked for us by the University of Amsterdam. The hotel has a great location and is very close to about 3 or 4 of the major tram routes. The boat tour company nearby is also very good for 10 euros. The little kitchen served us well but had no tea!!! it is opposite one of the best hotels in Amsterdam so always taxis nearby. Book in advance and get a deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The other hotel we had reserved 3 months ago canceled our reservation by their mistake only 4 days before our trip, so we were totaly at a loss but we luckily found this lovely accomodation, Hotel Residence Le Coin.

The hotel staffs were very kind and reliable. When we asked in email before arrival, they responded quickly. We arrived 1 hour before check-in, but they let us in.

The room was very large with a small but clean kitchen, also we could enjoy the fantastic view of the Munt tower from the window.
Though the hotel is in the center of the city, we hardly heard noise so we could sleep well. In addition the bed was little bit soft but very comfortable.

Finally, the price is reasonable enough for the room quality and I guess that in Amsterdam it would be difficult to find other better hotels like Hotel Residence Le Coin.

We will definitely be back there in the next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvor, Faro, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stay here for 1 night to meet up with friends from Irland and have to say its very good and freindly staff,, and midle in te centre of Amsterdam and even on the street site you dont notice any noise from outsite

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip and was really glad the Univ of Amsterdam put me up here. But I recommend it for other tourists. It is right on the tram line near Muntplein and by the flower market and easy to go anywhere. Also the rooms are quite spacious for Europe--they come with hardwood floors, a bathroom and a little kitchenette. The only thing that sucked was no pots to heat anything in or a reasonable knife. Also there's apparently a laundry on site. They have a lot going on in terms of convenience but need to communicate the information better. There's no room service or that kind of stuff but there are a ton of eating options all around. I was there 4 days and totally recommend it.

Room Tip: The first floor is handy to not have to rely on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deltona, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was in a great location in the center of town. It is about a 15 minute walk from the Amsterdam Centraal train station. The staff was very helpful. They let us store our luggage in their back room prior to check-in so we did not have to carry it around town. They were able to book our tours at the front desk. The rooms are atypical for a hotel as they were once used as short-term apartments. Upon entry are two small doors in a tiny hallway, one to a very tiny room with a toilet and the other to the shower and sink. Up a few steps to the right is the bedroom and to the left was a small office/kitchenette. We were happy with our choice overall.

Tip: The hotel is on a small street that did not show up on our map of the city. Print a map before you go. They charge 2.50 euros at the tourist office for a map. Most excursion booking shops have a city map showing the location of attractions in their free pamphlet and the hotel provided us one for free as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Le Coin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Coin

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Coin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Coin Amsterdam
Residence Le Coin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Le Coin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.