We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Le Coin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Residence Le Coin to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great price, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here on a recent business trip and was really glad the Univ of Amsterdam put me up here. But I recommend it for other tourists. It is right on the tram line near Muntplein and by the flower market and easy to go anywhere. Also the rooms are quite spacious for Europe--they come with hardwood floors, a bathroom and a little kitchenette. The only thing that sucked was no pots to heat anything in or a reasonable knife. Also there's apparently a laundry on site. They have a lot going on in terms of convenience but need to communicate the information better. There's no room service or that kind of stuff but there are a ton of eating options all around. I was there 4 days and totally recommend it.

Room Tip: The first floor is handy to not have to rely on the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    62
    25
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
35
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was in a great location in the center of town. It is about a 15 minute walk from the Amsterdam Centraal train station. The staff was very helpful. They let us store our luggage in their back room prior to check-in so we did not have to carry it around town. They were able to book our tours at the front desk. The rooms are atypical for a hotel as they were once used as short-term apartments. Upon entry are two small doors in a tiny hallway, one to a very tiny room with a toilet and the other to the shower and sink. Up a few steps to the right is the bedroom and to the left was a small office/kitchenette. We were happy with our choice overall.

Tip: The hotel is on a small street that did not show up on our map of the city. Print a map before you go. They charge 2.50 euros at the tourist office for a map. Most excursion booking shops have a city map showing the location of attractions in their free pamphlet and the hotel provided us one for free as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in September in a nice second floor room overlooking the canal. The room was spacious and nicely appointed with a kitchenette, large bed, flat screen TV and two large windows. As the hotel is nicely situated in central Amsterdam, it is noisy at night. We left our windows open and got used to the bustle of Amsterdam night life with no complaints. We found the front desk staff to be very friendly and helpful and made use of their recommendations and direction on numerous occasions. A wonderful stay in a fabulous location where we walked to everything. If you are worried about noise, there are rooms that face inside that will be much quieter. We would definitely return to LeCoin.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for an inner room. For great views but with the accompanying noise, req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The plusses are that the hotel is very clean, the staff is quite attentive and the breakfast is a good one. The rooms are simple, but of good size and the beds are comfortable. If you ask for a room on the courtyard side, then quiet is ensured...the street side is noisy. The location is excellent, a three minute walk from the flower market. But, if you are looking for luxury, opulence and/or air conditioning, you'll not find it here. So on a hot summer's day (now the more than occasional happenstance in Amsterdam) you'll be sweating even with the windows wide open. Do the plusses outweigh the minuses? For me, yes. It is good value for the money.

Room Tip: The courtyard ensures quiet...albeit with no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a meeting organized by the University of Amsterdam. The hotel is primarily frequented by guests that attend meetings at the University. The location is wonderful -- right in the center of the city, with easy walking distance to pretty much anything of interest in the city. I had a fairly spacious room facing the unremarkable inner court, and the room was really quiet -- an advantage over many other rooms -- I heard a lot of complaints about the noise in the rooms facing the hotel front. The weather in Amsterdam was unusually hot, and the hotel has no AC, so the room was quite hot. The room was quite spartan; not many amenities. The internet was very slow, so the front desk gave me an internet cable. My phone also had no reception in the room, which was a bummer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

my boyfriend and I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in august. large clean rooms, good shower with nice water pressure. friendly staff and fantastic location. theres a lift which is good if you have suitcases; a lot of hotels in Amsterdam don't!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolulla, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My mum and I stayed here for one night. We were very happy. The hotel was central and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was ready early so was perfect for dropping our bags off. The room was clean and nice to have the top floor with a balcony over looking the canals and street. A little loud outside but we were central so not really a problem. Comfortable beds and powerful shower. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Le Coin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Coin

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Coin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Coin Amsterdam
Residence Le Coin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Le Coin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.