We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room in quiet but central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Residence Le Coin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Residence Le Coin to your Saves list
Hotel Residence Le Coin
Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Spacious room in quiet but central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I only spent one night in this hotel, but understood that many visiting scholars at Amsterdam University stay there for longer periods. My large room was equipped with a kitchenette and fridge which would have suited such guests. The bathroom had a big bathtub which I unfortunately did not have the opportunity to use, but the shower was good and the bathroom was very clean. The hotel is located in the centre of Amsterdam, yet on a street with limited traffic - far more bicycles than cars! The staff were very efficient and helpful. We had breakfast and could then stay on in an adjacent room for a meeting and freely refill our coffee cups as we liked. The breakfast was good and the attentive staff quickly came with more eggs or fresh bread when something ran out. I would not mind staying at Le Coin again next time I visit this incredibly charming and friendly city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    71
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
41
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, CA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for a week in May, and it provided a near-perfect base from which to explore Amsterdam. Having a kitchenette is very convenient because it allowed us to have breakfast in, something we prefer. The only problem is our room location: it was in the corner overlooking the square (that part was fine) but right over a popular bar/cafe hangout which got noisier as the week progressed. We finally changed rooms on a Thursday. So, if you're there from Thursday thru Saturday, avoid the corner rooms. Very friendly staff and fairly priced.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, avoid a corner room if you're staying there Thursday thru Saturday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here July as this was our first visit to Amsterdam. The staff was helpful in making dinner reservations for us. Yes, the rooms may not be 4 or 5 star quality but they are sufficient for comfortable lodging and more importantly the Le Coin is in a great location. Close to the trams, within walking distance to many things and if you price other hotels in the area, you won't find a better value. Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is my second time to Amsterdam and after reading through a whole bunch of reviews on TripAdvisor, decided to stay at the Hotel Residence Le Coin this time and it was the best decision ever. We were here from June 11 - 14, 2012.

First, this place is centrally located. Its very easy to get here via the airport or Central train station. Also, I would put it at no more than a 30-minute walk to any of the major attractions in Amsterdam (Anne Frank House, Riijksmuseum, Van Gogh, Heineiken Experience, Red Light District, etc.) although most walks are shorter. If youre not in the mood to walk, the tram is very close by. There are tons of nearby pubs and restaraunts as well as shopping.

Second, the staff here is amazing. They are very helpful with any accomodations, knowledgeable about the area, and best of all, service oriented. We were greeted everday as we left the hotel and as we returned, they checked up to make sure the stay was satisfactory, and responsive to any inquiry we had (e.g. how to get to a certain attraction), It was also helpful that they have a good command of the English language.

Third, the accomodations are definately a good for the price. We had a Twin Room (145 euro/night) on the second floor overlooking the main street. The beds were comfortable and the blackout curtains were a huge plus for late-risers like us. No problems sleeping at night even though you could sometimes hear the Netherland fans boisterously cheering their team on as they were playing in Euro 2012. We never used the kitchenette area except for the fridge,which is key when on a budget to hold our food from the nearby supermarket. The restroom was simple, but very clean! The breakfast buffet was actually the best one we've had on this trip and would recommend it on your first or last day for its convenience.

The best part, they have a free washer and dryer on-site, which was great for travellers like us. You just need your own detergent soap or can buy some down the street.

This place is a neighorhood gem. I would recommend this place to anybody --- friends and family alike.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NH
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed here as a guest of the University, but I couldn't have hoped for a better hotel in Amsterdam. Centrally located, with a spacious twin-bed room and large windows on the top floor (there IS an elevator). Rooms include little efficiency ranges and a kitchen sink. WiFi is inexpensive and works well. Shower was great. Staff at front desk were very helpful and nice. I never tried breakfast, since there are great cafe's nearby.

Room Tip: I was happy on the top floor! I imagine the street would be a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks during summer 2010. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Breakfast is delicious. Room is clean. Location is more than fantastic - very central, close to all the shopping areas, the flower shops, University of Amsterdam, etc.
Only complaint this that it gets really hot in the summer (without aircon) and the only thing they send to my room to fix this is a small fan.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is my second stay at Le Coin and always a pleasure! The staff is amazing and extremely helpful! Dimitri and Jesse always gave us incredible and amazing restaurant recommendations that normally only the locals know of!!!! We also had a room, requested, that overlooked the canal....yes, it was active, but we kind of liked that! There are other rooms available, if you prefer the quiet...

Our room was huge, extremely clean and had a kitchenette! Perfect to celebrate my daughter's attaining her Masters and a Job!!!

Room Tip: canal for view but if you prefer quiet, don't do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Residence Le Coin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Le Coin

Address: Nieuwe Doelenstraat 5, 1012 CP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Residence Le Coin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Le Coin Amsterdam
Residence Le Coin Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Residence Le Coin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.