We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay! Great Price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marnix Hotel to your Saves list
Marnix Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #320 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay! Great Price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The confusion in some of the reviews is that the property seems to operate in two distinct models. A hotel with private facilities and a hostel with 4-12 beds in each room. I stayed here last month for 2 nights and never having stayed in a hostel before was "fearing the worst"after reading some of the reviews.
I checked in early afternoon and was allocated a bed in a 6 bedded room with a private shower room. The room was basic and not very well decorated but the bed was comfortable and both the sheets and towels were immaculate as was the shower room and toilet. All the reception staff were very friendly and gave great advice on finding local supermarkets and attractions. The lower ground floor area next to the reception was good for relaxing with other guests and you could use the fridge, microwave and utensils for your own food and drink I bought locally a bottle of wine for just over 2 euros, a microwaveable ready meal for the same and can of lager for 50 cents ( the average price was 5 euros in a bar).
Yes, the entrance to the room was back outside, next door down and yes, the tread on the stair was very narrow and quite steep because it is an old building and yes, my room was under the stairwell leading up to the 2nd and 3rd floors so I could hear people going up to their rooms and yes the hall areas had cheap laminate so it was noisy to walk on and yes, the wifi seemed to be problematic the further you were away from reception, but I didn't come to Amsterdam to sit on a computer/facebook/twitter, but it was all worth it because for the price I paid I couldn't have pitched a tent at a camping site.
I believe that the rack rate in some of the private rooms is around 100 euros a night and for what I saw that is completely overpriced but if you are lucky and have some nice quiet/friendly room mates then you could have a pleasant stay for around a TENTH of that. I did, but maybe I was just lucky!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back had no road side noise issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    51
    72
    44
    140
See reviews for
12
53
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

it's on budget hostel in perfect location near to city center
it was clean all the time but missing some facilities like lockers
you have only your bed and you could use the bathroom and shower that's it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've been here for 3 nights among with 2 friends in a 4 beds room with private b athroom; it was clean from our check-in 'till check-out. The guy even asked if we'd need something..perfect if you need a room just for sleeping.. right in front of the hotel there's the bus stop connecting to the schiphol.oh and wonderful position, with bikes you can get anywhere

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

the hotel's location is really cool, but there are trams running right past it and our windows wouldn't close so it was really loud (and i have a cold now). the service was okay, we got fresh towels every day. The bathroom are dirty and half of the time there wasn't any toiletpaper. one that was cool was that we originally booked a 10 bed room and ended up in a 6 bed dorm with only 5 people. I wouldn't recommend the hotel...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

When we arrived at there, a receptionist was very friendly. But another things were everything horrible. The building was 100m from there, there were too steep and narrow steps. The room was not clean, also bed sheets already had someone's hairs. No hungers, the curtain couldn't close properly.
TV was half broken, bathroom's one of two light was didn't work. We talked a front desk person, because work light was too far to shower, we couldn't see properly, but they didn't do anything.
Maybe, some people can stay another good reviewer's room, but I don't recommend this hostel, because we can't choose the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

So I read the bad reviews before I went and was expecting the worst and I was pleasantly surpised!! Yes it is not a hotel, it is more a hostel, but what do you expect for the price you are paying but it was great for what we needed it for, Amsterdam is expensive and we were a big group who just needed beds and showers. It was clean and comfy enough, and the place was cleaned everyday and you recieved towels and breakfast. It was close to Leidesplain Sq, well connected and easy to find. It is not the ritz but if you want something basic i would recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marnix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.