We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Hostel in perfect Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marnix Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marnix Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 382, Amsterdam 1016 XX, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #322 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good Hostel in perfect Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

it's on budget hostel in perfect location near to city center
it was clean all the time but missing some facilities like lockers
you have only your bed and you could use the bathroom and shower that's it

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    37
    56
    39
    118
See reviews for
9
39
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've been here for 3 nights among with 2 friends in a 4 beds room with private b athroom; it was clean from our check-in 'till check-out. The guy even asked if we'd need something..perfect if you need a room just for sleeping.. right in front of the hotel there's the bus stop connecting to the schiphol.oh and wonderful position, with bikes you can get anywhere

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

the hotel's location is really cool, but there are trams running right past it and our windows wouldn't close so it was really loud (and i have a cold now). the service was okay, we got fresh towels every day. The bathroom are dirty and half of the time there wasn't any toiletpaper. one that was cool was that we originally booked a 10 bed room and ended up in a 6 bed dorm with only 5 people. I wouldn't recommend the hotel...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

When we arrived at there, a receptionist was very friendly. But another things were everything horrible. The building was 100m from there, there were too steep and narrow steps. The room was not clean, also bed sheets already had someone's hairs. No hungers, the curtain couldn't close properly.
TV was half broken, bathroom's one of two light was didn't work. We talked a front desk person, because work light was too far to shower, we couldn't see properly, but they didn't do anything.
Maybe, some people can stay another good reviewer's room, but I don't recommend this hostel, because we can't choose the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

So I read the bad reviews before I went and was expecting the worst and I was pleasantly surpised!! Yes it is not a hotel, it is more a hostel, but what do you expect for the price you are paying but it was great for what we needed it for, Amsterdam is expensive and we were a big group who just needed beds and showers. It was clean and comfy enough, and the place was cleaned everyday and you recieved towels and breakfast. It was close to Leidesplain Sq, well connected and easy to find. It is not the ritz but if you want something basic i would recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We, in a moment of madness, after spending hours looking for somewhere cheap to spend a night in Amsterdam, booked this without reading any reviews. We thought for the money we were paying it would be decent enough. Biggest mistake!
Firstly, after spending nearly an hour walking there, were greeted with, you owe us more money, but if you pay cash you dont have to pay it.. suspicious. then they gave us a key, and told us to walk down the road until you found the right number building, and you let yourselves in off the street. the hotel sign was above some steps to i presume better rooms so i cannot speak for the whole hotel. When we finally worked out how to open the front door with no instruction, we climbed a damp and mouldy smelling (and looking) staircase and found our room. The had given us the wrong key so we had to walk all the way back down the street, and back again where upon arrival they just laughed with no apology, before we could finally get in our room. There were flies hovering around, dead ones collected in the lightshade, empty beer cans on the window sill and out the window which 1 person alone could not lift was a small garden being used as a tip. There was no mirror and dodgy electric plugs. The carpet had stains and was actually damp in places. Surprisingly, the bathroom (shared with other rooms) was clean and modern, which was out of place with the rest of the building. there were also constant bangs and thuds of builders above and going up and down the stairs, with dry paint flaking everywhere. i will not go back and couldnt wait to leave first thing in the morning, I didnt feel safe or rested at all when i was there.

Room Tip: all rooms in the building down the road are run down and it is a hostel not hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 382, Amsterdam 1016 XX, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelBookers, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marnix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.