We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic excuse for a "Hotel"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marnix Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 10 more sites!
Marnix Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 382, Amsterdam 1016 XX, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #319 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Guildord
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pathetic excuse for a "Hotel"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Dear god how I wish I had read the reviews properly before booking a night here. And thank god it was just one night! Upon arrival we were sent of down the road to a separate building, (think something out of a saw film) once we opened the doors we were greeted with a cocktail of smells, ranging from damp to animal feces. The walls had mold, the carpet was rotting, its no surprise really that they sent us to our room rather than showing it to us since it was such a disgrace and massive false advertising. Oh, they also gave us the wrong key for our door, so we had to go back and get that too. Our room was literally two single beds, and a lamp. The window was more or less a guillotine that could cut of your hand if you tried to leave it open, but at least we were supplied with a brick and slab of wood to keep it open, even better still, the outside windowsill included some old beer cans encase we had any doubts about how well the room had been cleaned. There were also constant bangs and crashes coming from above, although its nice to hear they were finally improving the place its a not appreciated all day long.

There were however a few positives of this so called Hotel.. The shared bathroom was nicely decorated and funnily enough smelt far cleaner than the rest of the rooms, which was a nice change. Its quite nicely located near a bus and tram stop, and the actual area is very pretty and walk-able from Amsterdam Centraal.

Overall 3/10. Rooms were far too under-equipped, unclean and overpriced- perhaps if it was more reasonably priced it would have been ideal for a backpacker just to stop off and leave things, although it didn't seem very safe to do that! I felt betrayed that I wasn't shown the room in any of the "professional" photos, and was annoyed that it was such poor standards for the moderate price. The only upsides were the location and shower. I still strongly recommend you avoid this place if possible, even on a tight budget i'm sure you can find a much preferable location. Sorry "Hotel" Marnix but you are officially the worst accommodation I've stayed in before.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    32
    52
    32
    109
See reviews for
9
36
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Did I mention there was dark matter smeared on the walls in the bathroom ? You have to be STONED to be able to crash in this dump, i would expect to pay no more than €5 a night for this room like this then I could understand it...the bed was like a giant soft sponge and practically sank to the floor when you try to get on it,either that or you were rolling off! the bed linen was white and clean looking but the pillow and duvet underneath was stained with god only knows what. The giant windows were really filthy and not been washed in over 7 years id say, it looked as they were smeared with mud deliberately and they couldn't be opened, this added to no ventilation = stale air .. Yuk! The bathroom had dodgy shower curtains and mad shower heads. I did not unpack because I was truly scared something might crawl into my bag. Stay here if you want to find out how low you can go ... Despite all that Amsterdam is a fun place and I'll be back ..only in a top hotel next time

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hostel (since I refuse to call it a hotel) is located in 2 separate buildings so standards might probably vary...
Nevertheless: the hostel is partially in renovation and for example there was bo water in one of the bathrooms. The windows open in only some of the rooms, so it's hot, stuffy and so on. Defonately no air conditioning.
The worst part was the hostel cancelled our reservation without any notice and althou we ended up arguing ourselves in anyhow, we has to pay more cash not to be homeless for the night.

Room Tip: Choose another hostel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say about the Maar-Nix. Fantastic hotel/hostel. Friendly staff, speedy check in, even got a discount at check in. Highly reccomend the Marnix stairs experience. Air con, safe balcony with view and spacious rooms with dressing area. Choice of various showers. Wake up siren. Will be booking again for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Wow! But not in a good way. 9 lads on a Stag Do.
As soon as we turned up the staff used the 'you owe us more money' routine. We argued only to get the response 'you're not in England now'. 4 Euros later we went up the three flights of 10cm deep steep steps to be greeted with the hottest, cramped, bunk bedded room. Shared floor bathroom which someone had vomited in (warm sick smell, nice). We literally used it to keep our bags in for the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnixReception, Manager at Marnix Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We are open to ways to improve upon our guests experiences and welcome any suggestions. We are working on this issue and would like to thank you for this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

HOTEL... NAH, Was sent off down the road to another building that was falling down inside and looked like something from a horror movie. Stayed on third floor which was half done to a poor standard, and the builders was on the second.... great to hear heavy machinery so early in the morning. Dangerous, unsightly, on top, misleading, dusty, and overall "PROPER SHADY"

Room Tip: Don't get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnixReception, Manager at Marnix Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our hotel was not a positive one. These problems are being resolved. Your feedback and suggestions are appreciated and would like to thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Quite a few of us stayed here.

It was good enough. Big room, ensuite toilet.
Bunk Beds..

What more could a stag do want?

Good location, only a short walk to anywhere or the tram.

The property was clean and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarnixReception, Manager at Marnix Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We appreciate you taking time to review your stay and we'll hope to see you soon at the Marnix Hotel on your next stay in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Marnixstraat 382, Amsterdam 1016 XX, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marnix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marnix Hotel to your Saves list