We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly acceptable for a party weekend stay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marnix Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marnix Hotel to your Saves list
Marnix Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #300 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable for a party weekend stay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went with three friends. We found the location confusing and a bit misleading - and I would agree with other reviewers that it's definately more of a hostel. Despite this, oddly enough, we weren't disappointed. We weren't in the rooms for any long periods of time however, I wouldn't recommend it for families (no way) or anyone wanting a romantic break.

Beds were comfy, bathroom small but adequate - and location was very good.

PHOTO - My photo of the entrance - you check in over the road, and the rooms are here - there are no staff or facilities here, it's literally just rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    68
    90
    51
    152
See reviews for
12
61
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Radomsko, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

it's called a hotel, but i will review it as a hostel, because that's what it really is - a budget hostel. otherwise i would have to give it straight 1's in the rating column.

the first and most important thing - don't expect too much. it's relatively cheap for Amsterdam and it's located very near the city centre... Well, in fact it IS in the city centre. And that's great. But be prepared to spend as little time there as you can. We stayed in a 6bed dorm. The room was as small as it gets. Only beds and a washbasin + a shower and toilet. No tables, no shelves, no electric kettles, no glasses, only one socket.
It was quite noisy, as the walls are very thin, so we could hear all the noise from the corridor. It wasn't that bad, but if you have trouble falling asleep in such conditions, be warned.
It was relatively clean. I mean, not really hotel-level, but they emptied the bins, changed the bedding and towels every day.
The staff was quite helpful, can't really complain.
The only place you can store you valuables is near the reception, in the dining room, but the lockers are so small, you will have trouble fitting in a laptop or a bigger camera.

However, there were no mice or bugs (i read some reviews here mentioning them) at leat in our room. So it wasn't THAT bad. I was pretty scared after reading the reviews, but it was actually quite ok, just don't expect a hotel standard - rather a cheap hostel one ;) And I wouldn't really bring a girlfriend with me if I were you ;) but for a guys only party weekend it'll pass ;)

it's really 2,5/5 (and only when treating it as a hostel, not a hotel it calls itself), but i'll round it up to 3.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Terrible accommodation, not even 1 star! But jeez is it to much to ask to be clean?

Second of all we phoned within 30min of making a booking, to say we selected the wrong date... yes, what do you think happened? After a week of emails (only form our side) and phone calls (only form our side)... Finally phoning up to x4 times a day, I finally heard: No the owner will not change your booking, and we will lose the money for the extra days were are not suppose to stay there. So strange as it was almost 2 months before the date of arrival. VERY UNHELPFUL STAFF, and for another part, you would expect people working in a hotel in the Netherlands to be able to converse in Dutch. They could only speak English, and I find that a bit strange... maybe the IND should pay this place a visit.

Room Tip: Dont book here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed in this as hostel and it turned out that its hotel and this hotel is very good according to the price you paid the owner of hotel is very cool indian guy and best thing about this hotel is it is very city center of Amsterdam actually

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I had a prepaid booking of 150 euro for a tripple room in Amsterdam Inn hotel. There was a note I had to do the check in in hotel Marnix instead (accross the street). We did so and instead of being accomodated in Amsterdam Inn we were accomodated in Marnix which was much worse than what we have paid for. We realized this only after the reception was closed so we could not change it anymore. The room was small, dirty, old, stinky, hot (no option to open the windows). The corridor was even worse. REALLY low quality for a lot of money. Nevertheless the location was extremely central. The next morning we got 50% off as compensation which we appreciated a lot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

As I was about to review this hotel I glanced over the other people's reviews and was a little confused as our stay was the best it could be!

We got a twin room and pushed the beds together to make it a double. The room was really warm and the beds were really comfortable. Fresh and clean! The bathroom was shared and to be honest, felt like your own as it was clean all the time. There was only one time where it wasn't clean but the cleaners happily and promptly cleaned it when we asked with no worries at all.

The staff were all very lovely and kind. Offering fresh towels every day and asking if we were enjoying our stay.

The only down side was that being an older place, it was quite loud with the other guests going up and down the stairs etc. but nothing that would stop us from staying there again.

Highly recommend this place if you're looking for a cheaper place to stay that still feels inviting and fresh!

Also, great location. We walked everywhere with no worries :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and I guess we got what you'd expect from amsterdam-a party vibe. It smelt like alcohol and vomit all the way up the stairs (which are insane by the way especially after a night out). The room was ok but the shower leaked all over and the damp smell was awful the next day. The location is good although a little hard to find. Its near the main square where you want to be for a good time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marnix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marnix Hotel

Address: Marnixstraat 382, 1016 XX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marnix Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marnix Hotel is a 2-star hotel. Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Amsterdam, about 200 metres from Leidseplein. The hotel has 21 rooms, Single, Double or Triples, most of them with shower and toilet. The reception crew will be more than happy to provide you with any tourist information and guidance to the city's attraction. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and Priceline so you can book your Marnix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marnix Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marnix Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.