We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap - Thats All” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Season Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Season Star Hotel to your Saves list
Season Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martelaarsgracht 18, 1012 TR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #340 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Cheap - Thats All”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

While everything you would expect is there, at the same time everything is not quite as good as it should be for a three star (or so it calls itself) hotel. The hotel is only five minutes walk from the central train station, which is good, but it is on a tram route that is noisy because there is no sound protection. The room was clean but was not serviced on our two night stay. Overall the hotel had a run down look and feel but its location and price were great. If you're looking for something cheap within walking or close tram distance of everywhere then give it a go. But don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    14
    14
    43
See reviews for
7
23
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I'm not sure why all the other reviews are low or average, but either way I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The staff was very friendly, the location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam by foot and you're right next to the train station, the price was the best we found in that area, there was a nice small breakfast included and our room was clean with a bathroom ensuite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have stayed here for 3 nights in August, 2012 - for vocation. Took a room for 2 people with suppose to be king size bed.
The hotel 2 minutes away to the Train Station and 5 minutes away from Dam Square on foot (Dam Square is the most famous one in Amsterdam). This is the only good thing about the hotel.
It was 100 Euros for Friday and Saturday night and 80 Euros for the other days. Doesn't worth it at all. They request extra 20 Euros deposit during check-in and give it back with check-out.
The room was too small. The bathroom is right in the room seperated with a door like in western movies.
Bed was too narrow for 2 persons.
There was a air conditioner which was very useful in August.
There is a TV with many channels.
No mini-bar.
There was a free wi-fi but i didn't use it.
If you don't tell the front desk, they never clean your room. When you ask, they only take the trash.
Breakfast was included to the price however it was vey plain. There is a nice cafe next to the hotel. I had breakfasts in there.
Check-in & out takes very short time.
I wouldn't stay there again and don't recommend it.

Room Tip: There is no good room. All bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hotel is located very close to the central station and 5 min walking distance from Dam Square. Reception/ lobby area is set up more like a cafe, where breakfast is served. At checkin EUR 20 deposit is required for the key. This is refunded upon checkout. Luggages storage is behind the counter. The room was ready for us when we checked in, but there were rubbish and cleaning material scattered on the floor outside our room, which wasn't cleaned until the evening. Even though ours was a non-smoking room, previous guests have smoked in the room and it was still smelling. Smoke alarm was covered in polythene. There were holes in the bed linen and mattress had its cover coming off. Room has a tv, but without a remote control. If remote is required, you have to pay EUR 10 deposit, which we found very unreasonable. Breakfast is basic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby , UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed here in 2005, and it was oyr first trip abroad together. I had been to Amsterdam before and knew what to expect from the hostel like hotels, so this hotels atmosphere didnt suprise me.
Room was clean, and showed signs of alot of use, but it was adequate for what we wanted it for.
Only downside was although we requested a non smoking room, the aircon ran through the hotel and pumped the same air through all the rooms, This meant our room quickly stunk of weed.
Would try somewhere else in future

Room Tip: choose a low floor.. smoke rises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Clearly not a 3-star hotel as its sign indicates! The room are old and dirty. Though the hotel forbids smoking, the curtains and the desk in the room had burn stains and the hotel had the smell of tobacco. The personnel in the front desk has clearly no professional qualifications, being rude and obnoxious.

I stayed for 3 nights and they did not change the bed sheets, nor cleaned the room. I did get fresh towels though. In general the room (and the hotel) was in desperate need of renovation!

The hotel is centrally located and within walking (or tram) distance from the touristic squares and shopping center.

If you only wish a good night sleep, then I would suggest staying in a cheaper place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel was very cheap, and well located. It is located just by the sentral station in Amsterdam, and the reseption was open 24/7. Friendly staff, who helped us book a resturant over the phone and etc. Nice big light rooms, we stayed as a couple for 5 nights. We had our own barthroom with bathtub and shower and WC. The room was cleaned before our stay, but it was a carpet floor, so staines from previous guests were ofcourse there. The bathroom was clean, we got new towels every second day. It was a bit noisy from the main road passing the room by, but it got more quiet in the night, and we slept trough it all. Breakfast was served in the lobby/reseption area, where you could get tea/coffie, juice and bread with jam or toast etc. The breakfast was included in the prise, and was til 10 am in the morning.

Over all it is one of the most pleasent stayes I've had in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Season Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Season Star Hotel

Address: Martelaarsgracht 18, 1012 TR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Season Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Season Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Season Star Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Season Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.