We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #15 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

I am lucky enough to have a friend who lives out in Amsterdam and the boy has never been so this June it seemed the perfect excuse to drop in on her for a few days and to sample the veritable delights of the 717 Hotel. I have had my eye on this gorgeous urban oasis for a while after hearing another friend raving about the afternoon tea which comes with the price of the room.

The hotel is situated in a prominent position on the Prinsengracht canal and was inhabited for many years by a prosperous sugar trader. The rear part of the house was built first and dates from the 17th century, but in 1810 the property was extended towards the Prinsengracht to demonstrate the owner’s wealth to his fellow citizens.
At that time, the rear of the house still served as a ‘sugar mill’. The neighbouring properties were also under the trader’s ownership and served as depositories for the raw and refined sugar.

During much of the 20th century the property fulfilled a social purpose, after which in 1996 it was completely restored and in 1997 it was officially opened as a hotel.

On our arrival we were greeted by the very friendly hotel manager Brita. As soon as the heavy front door opens you know you are in for a treat as your eyes are drawn to the delightful prints on the walls and stunning antiquities throughout.

After signing in Brita swiftly took us to our room. He had chosen for us the Franz List suite. As the name suggests this particular suite has a very musical theme! Situated on the ground floor of the house it is an attractive, 50 m2 suite with a comfortable sitting room at the front, and a quiet bedroom at the patio side of the house it also has a very roomy walk-in shower. After a very refreshing dip in the shower we sat down to our afternoon tea in the stunning sitting room. It is really cosy with windows just below street level so you can look up and out at the passers by. It was a particularly rainy Dutch day but that didn't bother us a jot as we sat down to watch Trois Coloeurs Bleu on the sleek Bang and Olfusen tv.

Our afternoon tea consisted of petite fours and delicious Williamson earl grey tea. Big thumbs up from the girl in this relationship. I admit I am a tea snob and being English, when one goes away one is usually greeted by limp, insipid tasteless tea. This is the crack cocaine of the the tea world.

After the film we retired to our bed for an afternoon nap. The bed is huge and just the right level of firmness. 717 use Egyptian cotton sheets and you can tell. After a blissful couple of hours sleep we met up with our friends for a stroll around the 'Nine Streets' to get in some vintage shopping. I went a little crazy and bought a pair of navy, vintage Biba, stacked heels in an ultra cool star print. Amsterdam has a mean collection of vintage shops!

Later in the evening we went back to the hotel and brought our guests in for a night cap. Often frowned upon in most European hotels but the dapper night porter didn't bat an eye lid. This is Amsterdam after all;)

In the morning we took breakfast in our suite. You can also have it in the delightful Stravinsky room or in the summer, outside in the shaded patio.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the 717 - a true 5 star boutique hotel.

For more views like this check out our blog -

http://gypsettravellers.blogspot.com

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    36
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
185
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Perfect location, stunning rooms and friendly staff. Bliss! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Bright and large suite like room. Nice furniture with a lof of interesting heavy cloths, curtains.
Tea, coffee, biscuits, wine was served at any time (and free of chare) in one of the three living rooms with always burning fire-places ot in the room.
Recommendations für dinner have been very good and very much in line with our expectations.
So it was a pleasant stay for a marathon weekend in a real personal, small, nice AND professoinal hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

The 717 is a beautiful town house sitting on one of Amsterdams unique canals near the 9 streets shopping area and just down the road from the Anne Frank museum. The house is immaculate with beautiful rooms and incredible friendly service. I was there with my 11 year old daughter for a one on one treat, and they really could not have been more amenable....ready with advise, booking restaurants and general information. You ask for a cup of tea and it comes with delicious chocolates, biscuits and mini cup cakes, when a glass of wine it comes with nuts and olives.....and all, the drinks and the snacks, are complimentary. Such a nice touch that adds to this feeling like a very luxurious home from home. I can not recommend it highly enough and hope to come back with my husband soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Hotel 717 is a great hotel with fantastic service and super cool interior decoration. Very helpful and serviceminded staff, we had a lovely breakfast in our room and every time we came into the hotel the staff was there, offering us drinks and/or snacks. The location could not be better, shops and museums within walking distance. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and made us feel at home, not in a hotel. Go and find out for yourself, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

717 is a luxury boutique hotel situated on one of the most beautiful canals in the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel has a warm, homely and welcoming atmosphere. I stayed in the Tolkien suite which was beautifully furnished and every care was taken to ensure my stay was comfortable. Breakfast was a real treat with fresh fruit salad and freshly squeezed orange juice and a basket of freshly baked breads and pastries (still warm) all delivered to enjoy in the comfort of my room. The personalised attention from staff who were efficient and friendly was much appreciated.
I will definitely stay in this hotel next time I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

great location, very good service and the house itself is elegant without excess. next time in amsterdam will see me back there...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.