We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #20 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

This is a proper luxury hotel. Forget about flashiness - marble and chandeliers etc - I would take this over Waldorf Astoria any time. Not that they are really comparable though; 717 has 8 big rooms only and they are furnished beautifully, stylish and with refined taste. Everything more or less is free; coffee, tea, minibar, good wines from the cellar served with olives, cheese and nuts, and staff is friendly and attentive. Location is in what I would consider one of the better and more interesting neighbourhoods of central Amsterdam. I found nothing to fault it on.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    42
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
28
207
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NETHRLANDS
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

A unique bed & breakfast ,located in the middle of historical Amsterdam.
Unique is it's design,offering culture,warmth and professionalism.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

A hidden gem for anyone who appreciates the tranquility of a small luxury hotel (8 suites only) in a beautifully rebuilt old Amsterdam townhouse located in the center of the Grachten district. The rooms are spacy, and superbly furnished and decorated (lots of antique furniture), the bathrooms are state-of.the art but adapted to the traditional style of the house. As space is at a premium, you will have to do without the usual amenities of a larger upmarket hotel, such as, for example, pool, gym, garage, and restaurant (the hotel serves breakfast only), but the very attentive, personal service will arrange for you almost anything you need. So just sit down in the lounge or library next to the open fireplace and enjoy life and a bottle of (the complimentary house) wine at the end of a busy day. As is true for most establishments of that kind, guests should have a basic level of physical fitness as there is no elevator and the staircases are quite steep. All in all a memorable stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almeria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

What a PLACE! from now on my new home n Amsterdam! FLAWLESS!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on our first (childless) trip abroad following the arrival of our son. I found it on Mr and Mrs Smith and was planning to spoil us both with a bit of fun and luxury. We were not disappointed! The location near the Nine Streets is great and the coffee shops/restaurants and boutiques nearby make this the perfect place to stay for a top end city break which is exactly what we intended. Due to being snowed in (no flights leaving Schiphol - the same weekend the euro tunnel packed up just before Christmas!) we actually ended up staying an extra night again in a beautiful suite and even with the stress of not knowing how we were going to get home we had a marvellous time due in large part to the excellent assistance and information we were given by polite ,friendly and attentive but never intrusive staff. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed at 717 for 4 nights in December and the stay was amazing. You really do feel like posh residents, climbing the steps to your exclusive home on the canal. The service is impeccable, the location pristine. My husband and I stayed in the Van Goethe suite, beautiful and finely appointed. Have breakfast delivered everyday in your room if you wish and after a day of sightseeing, the staff will prepare a bottle of wine and snacks for you to enjoy in your room. Super chic, super discreet, A+ service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

As frequent travelers to Amsterdam, we stayed in many hotels in the past. None were worth a revisit. Then we run across the 717 online, read a review, and figured we should give it a shot. We booked a room and hope for the best, while fearing the notorious "boutique nightmare" - small and pricy room. Well, it's so not. The 717 is an amazing place. Decor is breath taking. Location is superb. And the room (Number 6) was spacious, cozy, and comfortable beyond anything we have seen. In the future it will definitely be our place in town. For us, the 717 is the defenition of boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#19 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#11 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,801 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.