We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of peace, style, and subtile luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Munich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An oasis of peace, style, and subtile luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

A hidden gem for anyone who appreciates the tranquility of a small luxury hotel (8 suites only) in a beautifully rebuilt old Amsterdam townhouse located in the center of the Grachten district. The rooms are spacy, and superbly furnished and decorated (lots of antique furniture), the bathrooms are state-of.the art but adapted to the traditional style of the house. As space is at a premium, you will have to do without the usual amenities of a larger upmarket hotel, such as, for example, pool, gym, garage, and restaurant (the hotel serves breakfast only), but the very attentive, personal service will arrange for you almost anything you need. So just sit down in the lounge or library next to the open fireplace and enjoy life and a bottle of (the complimentary house) wine at the end of a busy day. As is true for most establishments of that kind, guests should have a basic level of physical fitness as there is no elevator and the staircases are quite steep. All in all a memorable stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    38
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
187
17
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Almeria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

What a PLACE! from now on my new home n Amsterdam! FLAWLESS!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, Uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on our first (childless) trip abroad following the arrival of our son. I found it on Mr and Mrs Smith and was planning to spoil us both with a bit of fun and luxury. We were not disappointed! The location near the Nine Streets is great and the coffee shops/restaurants and boutiques nearby make this the perfect place to stay for a top end city break which is exactly what we intended. Due to being snowed in (no flights leaving Schiphol - the same weekend the euro tunnel packed up just before Christmas!) we actually ended up staying an extra night again in a beautiful suite and even with the stress of not knowing how we were going to get home we had a marvellous time due in large part to the excellent assistance and information we were given by polite ,friendly and attentive but never intrusive staff. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed at 717 for 4 nights in December and the stay was amazing. You really do feel like posh residents, climbing the steps to your exclusive home on the canal. The service is impeccable, the location pristine. My husband and I stayed in the Van Goethe suite, beautiful and finely appointed. Have breakfast delivered everyday in your room if you wish and after a day of sightseeing, the staff will prepare a bottle of wine and snacks for you to enjoy in your room. Super chic, super discreet, A+ service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

As frequent travelers to Amsterdam, we stayed in many hotels in the past. None were worth a revisit. Then we run across the 717 online, read a review, and figured we should give it a shot. We booked a room and hope for the best, while fearing the notorious "boutique nightmare" - small and pricy room. Well, it's so not. The 717 is an amazing place. Decor is breath taking. Location is superb. And the room (Number 6) was spacious, cozy, and comfortable beyond anything we have seen. In the future it will definitely be our place in town. For us, the 717 is the defenition of boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

First I was a little shocked of the price but it’s more than worth it.
Really excellent service, nothing is a problem and they have all the time for the guests.
Great roomy room, with a good comfortable bed and an excellent bad room.
Middle in the center of Amsterdam, close to all different kind of shops but still very quiet.
We loved it and we definitely come again to see Amsterdam in such a special environment.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

My husband and I came here from NYC for a long weekend. We arrived after an overnight flight at 6 AM and were allowed access to our room immediatly which was nice. OUr room was on one of the higher floors-had to go up and around several loops of the staircase to get there. Breakfast was good and hotel recomendations were very accurate. Our room had a view of the rooftops of the city and a fun fire escape that we could sit on. The room was very comfortable and romantic.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.