We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exercise in the sublime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special
Ranked #12 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London
1 review
“An exercise in the sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Quite frankly it is very hard to fault a hotel like Seven One Seven. The rooms are luxurious and very tastefully decorated. The service is friendly without being intrusive. It is very centrally located and the service is top notch. If you are looking for a place to really wow your other half it is hard to imagine a more romantic place to do it. We stayed in the Shakespeare suite which was very homely and comfortable. The only low point of the weekend was leaving!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    35
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
179
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
londin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed at the 717 for a weekend in Amsterdam - we were travelling without our children and wanted to spoil ourselves and this was the perfect place to do it. We stayed in the Room at the Top, up several flights of steep stairs, which was a lovely room. Unlike so many hotels everything about the 717 felt personal - from the greeting in the wood-decorated entrance to the delivery of drinks and breakfast in our room. Service was impeccable - discreet, friendly and charming. The breakfast basket was lovely. One of the charms of this hotel is that drinks, breakfast, minibar and even wines and canapes brought to your room are included in the price - you don't leave feeling ripped off at spending $$$ on a bottle of mineral water from the minibar. Our one minor gripe was that the bathroom and bathroom products didn't match the indulgent feeling of the rest of the hotel, but this is a slight quibble. Given the opportunity to spoil ourselves in Amsterdam again, we would happily return to the 717.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leidschendam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Our stay in the prestigious hotel Seven One Seven was a present from our children. We enjoyed it very much. The cozy atmosphere of the room and the hospitality of the staff made us feel very welcome and at home. The room service and breakfast were of very good quality. We stayed in the Schubert suite at the front side of the building. It was furnished in a good style, with the exception of a big air conditioning unit. The hotel is situated in the old characteristic centre of Amsterdam and we could see and hear its lively town life, even at night. However the excellent beds fully compensated for this noise. There are many possibilities for going out in the neighborhood . We recommend this hotel to guests who like s stylish place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Hotel 717 is my favourite hotel in Amsterdam. The staff are friendly and efficient. When I told them I was trying to learn Dutch they all encouraged me and spent time speaking Dutch to me (but they all speak very good English too!). The rooms are charming and spacious. There are only seven in the hotel plus a terrace, a library and a generous sitting room. It's more like being in someone's lovely house in Amsterdam than in a hotel. It's nicely designed without being 'designery' and overwhelming - smart, grown up but still 'gezellig' (cosy). Although it is quite expensive everything is inclusive so breakfast, coffee, tea and drinks in the evening plus the mini-bar plus wireless internet access and CDs/DVDs are all included in the price. I only have two problems with 717: first, I can't stay there as often as I would like and second, I don't want anyone else to stay there because I want to keep it as my little secret.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJMK1978
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

This summer we've stayed in the beautiful "Picasso" suite, of the hotel Seven One Seven. It was recommended to us by friends, who had stayed there about a year ago. To put it short: we've had a great stay!

The hotel is located in the middle of the center so the shops and museums were very easy to reach. The rooms are all decorated differently, but with the same "coming home" feeling to it. We really enjoyed coming back "home" to the hotel for a drink and a little relaxation. The staff was very friendly and easy going, which altogether made it a week to remember!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnhem
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Last weekend I stayed in Seven one Seven ,in Amsterdam with my wife,to cellebrate our wedding anniversary.

We were staying int the Tolkien suite which is romantic and warm decorated ,like the whole hotel.

We had a great time,the atmosphere is great,like staying with a relative,kind staff and high service.
We enjoyed breakfast in the Patio ,all the dvd“s and the restaurants they recommended us.

We will be back and tell our friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Canaria, Spain
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

My partner and i stayed at this hotel over the Easter period.
The hotel is lovely, very unique and situated right in the heart of Amsterdam with a fabualus address.
We stayed in the 'Shubert' suite at the front of the building and was very fine in every way, beautifull room overlooking the Prinsingrahct....
The staff were all very helpfull with all our requests, not in your face but always there when you needed them. They helped us with restaurant resavations...The breakfast served in the hotel is very fine in there lovely dining room...This hotel is small, very comfortable and really is a 'Hidden Gem'

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.