We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like stepping into a past that never was” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Like stepping into a past that never was”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

A wonderful hide-away with an indefinable air - neither old nor new - like staying over with your favorite slightly eccentric in a can't-quite-put-your-finger-on-it way uncle. Each suite an eclectic but harmonious little world. Stay there but please don't take the last room - I plan to be back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    36
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
181
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few days and had a great experience. The public rooms are welcoming and warm, and we felt as if we were in someone's home. They staff was helpful and accommodating. There is great attention to detail throughout the hotel and each guest's requests. Each room is unique - ours was large and airy. Privacy, comfort, luxury!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Everything was wonderful, no negatives remarks regarding the attention nor the hotel facilities. Only negative point: it was a pity that the Wi-Fi didn't work in the 2 days that I've stayed in the hotel.

Room Tip: No elevator available and the stairs are too sharp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

717 is a fantastic hotel with amazing service levels and attention to detail and also has a great location. I was here on business for one night and enjoyed my stay.. The price was rather high but so was every other hotel in town (trade fair) and this hotel offered good value for money..

I had room number 9 (which is on lower floor) which is a great room with your own separate living room. Wifi Connection works well which is important for me.. If there are a few issues, they are very minor ones... It may seem strange, but I didnt know how to turn on the TV. only radio came on... I could have contacted the reception but I just didn't bother. Maybe some instructions would be welcome (it's a Bang & Olufson Tv and isn't as straight forward as any other normal TV, in case people question my ability to turn on a TV)... Another issue is the toilet is crammed into a wardrobe space so if you are a larger person you may have some issues... Final remark would be the water pressure in the shower was rather low.. I'm not sure if this was because I was in the lower level floor or if many other people were also using a shower at the same time...

Nevertheless don't let these minor things put you off from staying here.. I, for one, would definately be coming back to this hotel and is the reason why I've rated this as an excellent hotel.

If you are looking for a romantic break with a touch of class then this is your hotel in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Highly recommendable
My notes on the hotel and the room I stayed in:
Seven One Seven Hotel
Was in Amsterdam for one night, on business; Book a room at the last minute; took advantage of non-reimbursable, cheaper rate (had cancelled in nearby hotel, equally good I suspect, but more expensive and less roomy)
Hotel is in the center (Centrum) of Amsterdam, on one of the canals.
Can’t speak for all suites, but I stayed in the “Franz Liszt” one (downstairs, one steep staircase, like it must be in all homes around – they are so narrow!) and was very satisfied!
The suite is large enough at 50 square meters but with a rather low ceiling. The 3 interconnected but separate rooms (plus a separate toilet cabinet – very small, too small in my view!) are set on a longish orientation and do the length of the building, from front to back. It is at street level; it has windows at the back in the bedroom that gives on a little garden, with a table and a very large parasol – accessible from the corridor just outside the room; and at the front, in the study, that gives on the street and the fronting canal, but not a view to speak of, except passing people! There are dark curtains on the windows that can be pulled out for privacy.
The bedroom is sufficiently large, with a queen- or king-size comfortable bed; side tables (hanged from the wall), and reading lights on top; there is also a full-length (but narrow) mirror in the bedroom. Connecting bathroom (separated by a wooden door – marble on the floor) is well conceived and functional (lots of towels!): One stand-alone “barber-style” white marble sink with a hanging mirror (plus a lit, small enlarging, height-adjustable, one, on the side, for those who need to see very close!). Shower is neat, with adequate pressure (an essential feature for me!)
Study (again separate from the bathroom with a wooden door) is large enough, with a desk and chair to work (enough plugs around to plug your computer and phone charger – don’t forget the adaptors – 2 round-pins European plugs), two large chairs and a central table! The floor is covered with a straw carpet the length of the room; there is also a fridge and a safe (hidden in the cupboard) and a closet to hang your clothes. Finally an area, near the mantle of a fake fireplace, the TV set.
Overall, there are well-explained instructions in the room folder.
Breakfast is delicious and plenty (served in the well-lighted room across – the Stravinsky room)
Monday, May 12, 2014

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The quality of service in this hotel is an example for most of the places I use to stay in. You realy feel at home. For me, the award goes to the waiter whos serves breakfast, with kindness and discretion. Preparing your day in an amazing dining room, with a touch of classical music and high quality food: simply perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The 717 is an astounding discovery in this modern world. Like stepping into a luxurious home from another century. The service was extraordinary, could'nt do enough for me. The Charles Dickens
suite is huge and beautiful, with a super-modern bath. The breakfast was delicious, cooked to order, with silver and linen tablecloths. I was there for 1 night on business, but would love to go back for a few nights vacation.

Room Tip: If all rooms are as nice as CD, I'm sure they're superb,. Be warned, the stairs are typical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;