We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and quite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Elegant and quite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The quality of service in this hotel is an example for most of the places I use to stay in. You realy feel at home. For me, the award goes to the waiter whos serves breakfast, with kindness and discretion. Preparing your day in an amazing dining room, with a touch of classical music and high quality food: simply perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    39
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
199
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The 717 is an astounding discovery in this modern world. Like stepping into a luxurious home from another century. The service was extraordinary, could'nt do enough for me. The Charles Dickens
suite is huge and beautiful, with a super-modern bath. The breakfast was delicious, cooked to order, with silver and linen tablecloths. I was there for 1 night on business, but would love to go back for a few nights vacation.

Room Tip: If all rooms are as nice as CD, I'm sure they're superb,. Be warned, the stairs are typical...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We fell through the door after an early flight from London, we were greeted with a good pot of coffee and were seated in a stunning sitting room. Wiebe, who had made our booking took us to our room, a beautiful sitting room cum bedroom "The Tolkein Suite", with a well furnished bathroom.
After we'd settled in nothing was too much trouble. Tea, advice, restaurant booking were accomplished with no fuss at all and we felt at home. We can't recommend the hotel too much, it was well worth it and Wiebe and his colleagues made our stay memorable. The bed was comfortable, sheets dreamy soft, loads of hot water and delicious breakfast.
We look forward to future visits. It made for a special stay.

Room Tip: if you like blue then the Tolkien Suite is for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is possibly one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. The poistion is excellent and the feel of the place is like you are staying in a proper house in Amsterdam. The rooms are large and very comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I spent seventeen days driving through France, stopping every two days to visit wineries, old castles and prehistoric caves. We finally flew from Bordeaux to Amsterdam to stay at the Seven One Seven hotel on Prinsengracht (Room 3, also known as "Charles F.H. Dickens", which had a couple of his books on a shelf as a stamp of approval!) Each room, I noticed had the name of someone famous, but being English, and a bookworm, this one suited me perfectly!
A delightful contrast to previous accommodations, this quaint hotel, situated on the canal, must have once been someone's home. A warm fire was burning in both the living room and dining room that was divided by the entrance hall, and aromatic candles perfumed the air - a wonderful welcome from the damp and chilly outside. A narrow rickety staircase led up to our room, which was decorated with all sorts of artifacts. The next morning we were served a lovely fresh breakfast downstairs in a room with a baby grand piano, sporting two lit candelabras! Classical music was playing softly in the background. The staff were polite and most obliging - a definite must return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Seven One Seven in Amsterdam for three nights in April 2014. We could not have been more pleased with our stay; the staff are incredibly friendly and discrete, the hotel itself is a unique canal house in the beautiful canal district of Amsterdam, very conveniently located for accessing the center, shopping district and museums. The breakfast was superb (fresh juice, pastries, waffles made to order, freshly home made bread etc) and our room was delightful (Van Goethe suite) with no less than 6 windows! The stay was not cheap but in our view entirely justified by the quality of the hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Von Goethe suite is probably the lightest room, being on the penultimate floor and the most spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife organised a surprise trip and booked this hotel. It is one of those intimate boutique establishments and it feels like you are walking into your own home. It is delightful and well located.
Do not expect amazing services, because it is really just a townhouse but the rooms are extremely spacious and luxurious.
Breakfast was limited and was a slight let down but overall to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.