We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #19 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This is possibly one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. The poistion is excellent and the feel of the place is like you are staying in a proper house in Amsterdam. The rooms are large and very comfortable and the breakfast was wonderful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I spent seventeen days driving through France, stopping every two days to visit wineries, old castles and prehistoric caves. We finally flew from Bordeaux to Amsterdam to stay at the Seven One Seven hotel on Prinsengracht (Room 3, also known as "Charles F.H. Dickens", which had a couple of his books on a shelf as a stamp of approval!) Each room, I noticed had the name of someone famous, but being English, and a bookworm, this one suited me perfectly!
A delightful contrast to previous accommodations, this quaint hotel, situated on the canal, must have once been someone's home. A warm fire was burning in both the living room and dining room that was divided by the entrance hall, and aromatic candles perfumed the air - a wonderful welcome from the damp and chilly outside. A narrow rickety staircase led up to our room, which was decorated with all sorts of artifacts. The next morning we were served a lovely fresh breakfast downstairs in a room with a baby grand piano, sporting two lit candelabras! Classical music was playing softly in the background. The staff were polite and most obliging - a definite must return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Seven One Seven in Amsterdam for three nights in April 2014. We could not have been more pleased with our stay; the staff are incredibly friendly and discrete, the hotel itself is a unique canal house in the beautiful canal district of Amsterdam, very conveniently located for accessing the center, shopping district and museums. The breakfast was superb (fresh juice, pastries, waffles made to order, freshly home made bread etc) and our room was delightful (Van Goethe suite) with no less than 6 windows! The stay was not cheap but in our view entirely justified by the quality of the hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Von Goethe suite is probably the lightest room, being on the penultimate floor and the most spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaliDeacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife organised a surprise trip and booked this hotel. It is one of those intimate boutique establishments and it feels like you are walking into your own home. It is delightful and well located.
Do not expect amazing services, because it is really just a townhouse but the rooms are extremely spacious and luxurious.
Breakfast was limited and was a slight let down but overall to be recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry5461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

a very nice and comfortable welcome, nice rooms, well decorated, a feeling of being at home, nice and personal breakfast. In the center of Amsterdam on one of the canals, near shopping and leisure centres

Room Tip: rooms looking out on the patio, at the back of the house are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisohout v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed here on a business trip and it was a very good experience. The place is beautiful, elegant and so comfortable. The room was large and airy and the bed was amazing. The staff is knowledgeable and make every effort to accommodate your every request. The location can't be topped as it is in the centre of the city near the canals. Loved it here and will be back.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Von Goethe Suit. It is large and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

A beautiful hotel in the perfect area. The boys at the hotel couldn't have been more charming or helpful, recommending and booking great restaurants. We really enjoyed Christophe.
We would definitely stay here again and can't wait to go back.

My only slight gripe were the pillows,although my husband didn't have a problem with them, I found the filling uncomfortable and not up to the standard of everything else.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in the Shubert room. A vast , luxurious , comfortable tastefully desig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Let L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,018 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,001 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#12 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing