We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As you are at home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #16 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Porto, Portugal
1 review
“As you are at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

It's a different world! you feel as you were in your own house. Discreet, charming with very comfortable rooms and in a very good location. If you want a place where you feel like an inhabitant of Amsterdam so this is the perfect hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    37
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
186
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

had an amazing couple of days in amsterdam staying at this beautiful hotel. situated in the heart of the canal district, close to many of the cities top attractions, this hotel is personal yet extravagant. the service attentive but discreet, our room beautifully proportioned and exquisitely furnished. a unique experience.

Room Tip: canal side for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

All to brief a visit. One of the best hotels I have ever been to (and been to lots). Wonderful hospitality and wonderful rooms. Was a bit perturbed that I couldn't afford a room with a view of the canal, but I have to say the one we had at the back was superb all the same (Mahler).

Loved it, loved it. The waiter at breakfast was excellent and picked up on me being coeliac (gluten free) and brought me gluten free bread without asking!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our recent 2-day stay in the 'Room at the top' suite. This is more like a B&B than a hotel. The room was spacious and decorated in a somewhat eclectic style that made it feel more like home than a hotel. It was quiet at night - couldn't hear any other guests - but with some humming presumably from the heating. The various people staffing the reception were very helpful in recommending excellent restaurants and booking tickets online for museums and sites. Breakfast consisted of assorted breads, eggs and a cheese/meat plate, freshly pressed orange juice and a fruit salad (served at the table, no buffet). There was an extra charge of Euro 20 per person for breakfast. Wireless worked well and was free.
The location is great with Rijk's Museum, old city and Anne Frank house in walking distance.
The stairway to the rooms is very steep and not suitable for people with any kind of handicap walking. Overall a very friendly place but not for the budget-conscious.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I am fortunate to be able to visit Amsterdam for business, and pleasure, three, or four, times every year. Over the years, I have stayed at all the usual suspects, both Boutique and 'Full Sized'. The one hotel that has never let me down, in terms of service and ambiance, is 717. The hotel is perfectly situated for seeing Amsterdam on foot. All the rooms are characterful, and scrupulously clean. The staff are hugely helpful and will go out of their way to fulfill any request you may have - in a non-corporate manner. The common areas are cosy and stylish, and the breakfast is outstanding!

Room Tip: For a first time visitor the canal facing suites are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I paid nearly £500 to stay here in the Schubert Suite and was disappointed by what I got for my money. The bathroom was tired and in no way luxurious and the room itself did not live up to my expectations considering what it cost. The room service menu was poor, and there were only 3 wines to choose from, one of which they didn't have. We also asked for something sweet to take up to our room on our return from dinner and were told that they didn't have anything at all to offer. I have stayed in many beautiful, expensive hotels around the world and in comparison to most of these, this hotel should be priced at half of what it costs. It is not 5 star standard at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We value the opinion of our guests and will take your feedback on the service to heart.

Kind regards,

General Manager
Hotel Seven one Seven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

717 is perfectly situated for the sights of Amsterdam, an easy stroll from the Museumplein.
Tram 2 or 5 from the station takes you virtually to the door in 10 minutes. The hotel is in an old Amsterdam house, very chic and comfortable. A relaxed boutique atmosphere marks it out. Charming and helpful staff make the hotel a delightful sanctuary when tourist foot becomes too painful.

Room Tip: Charles Dickens is spacious and comfortable. At the back, it lacks the canal view but is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.