We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A house with real character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special (3for2)
Ranked #13 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A house with real character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

If you want to experience the charm of staying in a restored canal-side house, 717 is perfect. Rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished. Staff could not have been more charming and helpful and the location is great (as was breakfast!).
Stayed in the Listz room on the lower floor as the other rooms were fully booked. Very cosy sitting room looking on to the canal and a quiet bedroom overlooking the courtyard garden - certainly ideal for a winter stay. The bathroom was fine but the toilet is not for the claustrophobic!
Will definitely be staying there again and have no hesitation recommending it !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    34
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
177
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

From the moment you walk in the door and are offered a cup of tea or a glass of wine while sitting in the library, you feel welcome and expected.

Its this sense of participation that the staff give you that makes it so outstanding; their interest and help is genuine, and not the formulaic "have a good day"; they remember where you were going, and when you come back talk with you about it.

The rooms are perfect, beds and baths everything you could possibly want. Breakfast is outstanding.

We can't wait to return

Room Tip: Mahler room has a luxurious Bath as well as a great shower. i cant think that there is a bad room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

A lovely and welcoming hotel full of character. Housed in a beautiful old canal house 5 minutes from the museum quarter, furnished with antiques and paintings, with very comfortable accommodation - great beds and lovely bathrooms. Breakfast excellent. Staff all knowledgeable, cheerful, and very helpful. Our second stay and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is a great place, each room is unique. Perfect location, in the center - near to the Leidesplein but on a quiet street. Friendly staff, would go back again and again. It feels like your own apartment!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were in Amsterdam for three nights, including New Year's Eve. Our room (Goethe) was spacious and lovely. The staff was very polite and reasonably helpful. As a B&B, the staff's ability to arrange for tickets was a bit more limited than it would have been at a full-service hotel, but they did what they could. We enjoyed the breakfasts. All in all, we had a positive experience. My husband prefers a full-service hotel, but we both enjoyed the experience of this small B&B. And the location was perfect.

Room Tip: Go with a higher floor, but recognize that there are very steep steps. It's the first place we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

First time in Amsterdam in the city centre. Looking for a hotel for one night that was not a 'chain' hotel and my wife found this one. Looked a little too good to be true but no worries. Lovely hotel, incredibly friendly staff, fantastic room (stayed in the Tolkien room) - really feels special! Looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: Very steep stairs - although normal for this kind of building. If possible take rooms on the first o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We came to Amsterdam as a final break before our baby is born in April.
We absolutely loved the city!
717 is a beautiful building in one of the best locations imaginable.
Our room was the Liszt - on the lower ground floor.
We got the room in a E200 Winter sale, and at this price it was OK.
However the usual cost of the room is E300, and I would have been really disappointed if we had paid this much!
In short - beautiful space, lovely sitting room with view of canal. Bedroom a bit dark and over
looking courtyard, but I expected this as it is a cheaper room and on the lower ground floor.
The bad bits are: the shower needs renewing, new shower heads, tiles and grouting. They are OK but a bit worse for wear given the standard of the hotel. The same goes for the sisal flooring in the living room - a bit worn!
And the toilet! Oh the toilet... It is far too small - far, far too small. So small that you cannot believe it. Or use it. Very odd.
And the heating would not switch off! The living room was like a death by a thousand suns - although it wasnt too much of a problem in the evenings after walking the very cold streets by day... By way of a caveat this may not have bothered many people as much as it did me as I just can't stand central heating!
The service was great, all staff very helpful and they gave us free breakfast on two days for the faulty heating - which just about made up for it. The bed and bed linens were very good quality and I slept very well! The staff also offered to swap our room on account of the heating, which I maybe should have accepted, but we had settled in by then.
So, all in all, lovely hotel, we really enjoyed our stay, but at these super high prices it should be perfect. And it wasn't!
I almost gave it four stars but I think the points above given the price rally waarant 6-7/10...!

Room Tip: Liszt room does have a view of the canal and is much cheaper than the other rooms with canal view. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Matthannah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to read that despite all our efforts to make you as comfortable as possible your experience was not optimal.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the nearby future. For now we would like to wish you good luck the next couple of months and enjoy the rest of your holiday back in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.