We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for a few nights in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #15 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Excellent hotel for a few nights in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

First time in Amsterdam in the city centre. Looking for a hotel for one night that was not a 'chain' hotel and my wife found this one. Looked a little too good to be true but no worries. Lovely hotel, incredibly friendly staff, fantastic room (stayed in the Tolkien room) - really feels special! Looking forward to going back again.

Room Tip: Very steep stairs - although normal for this kind of building. If possible take rooms on the first o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    36
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
185
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We came to Amsterdam as a final break before our baby is born in April.
We absolutely loved the city!
717 is a beautiful building in one of the best locations imaginable.
Our room was the Liszt - on the lower ground floor.
We got the room in a E200 Winter sale, and at this price it was OK.
However the usual cost of the room is E300, and I would have been really disappointed if we had paid this much!
In short - beautiful space, lovely sitting room with view of canal. Bedroom a bit dark and over
looking courtyard, but I expected this as it is a cheaper room and on the lower ground floor.
The bad bits are: the shower needs renewing, new shower heads, tiles and grouting. They are OK but a bit worse for wear given the standard of the hotel. The same goes for the sisal flooring in the living room - a bit worn!
And the toilet! Oh the toilet... It is far too small - far, far too small. So small that you cannot believe it. Or use it. Very odd.
And the heating would not switch off! The living room was like a death by a thousand suns - although it wasnt too much of a problem in the evenings after walking the very cold streets by day... By way of a caveat this may not have bothered many people as much as it did me as I just can't stand central heating!
The service was great, all staff very helpful and they gave us free breakfast on two days for the faulty heating - which just about made up for it. The bed and bed linens were very good quality and I slept very well! The staff also offered to swap our room on account of the heating, which I maybe should have accepted, but we had settled in by then.
So, all in all, lovely hotel, we really enjoyed our stay, but at these super high prices it should be perfect. And it wasn't!
I almost gave it four stars but I think the points above given the price rally waarant 6-7/10...!

Room Tip: Liszt room does have a view of the canal and is much cheaper than the other rooms with canal view. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Matthannah,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to read that despite all our efforts to make you as comfortable as possible your experience was not optimal.

Hopefully we can welcome you back in the nearby future. For now we would like to wish you good luck the next couple of months and enjoy the rest of your holiday back in the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband & I stayed for only one night and were not pleased with our experience. The "hotel" is really just an overrated B&B. First let me say that we liked the building's architecture itself, which is richly decorated, charming and has a delightful common area to sit and enjoy the fireplace with tea & coffee upon request. The location is perfect along the canal and near the centre of town. The breakfast was average, but should have been included in the room rate of 400 euros per night.
What we didn't like.... Our suite was located in the basement which has very low ceilings and dark rooms. My husband and I are of average height but with long legs so we had to sit sideways in the tiny, laughable WC. We had limited, spotty wifi and no tea/coffee machine in our room. We called for room service to bring tea & coffee in the morning and had to call 2 times before anyone would answer the phone, then was told it is available in the breakfast room. We were annoyed by having to wait an excessive amount of time at the front door for someone to answer the bell and let us in... each time we returned to the hotel. There is nothing more "unwelcoming" then standing at the front door with all your luggage, in the rain, waiting for someone to let you in. In addition, we knew in advance there would be no on site restaurant, so we purchased our own lovely Amsterdam cheeses and crackers and brought along a bottle of Luxembourg Cremant from home to have in our room prior to venturing out for dinner. When we called to ask for an ice bucket and champagne glasses we were told we would be charged a "corkage" fee for the exorbitant price of their in-house champagne. After being told this by the clerk My husband & I both checked though all the literature given to us upon check in and everything written in our room, then also checked the website and no where did it state anything in writing about a corkage fee. I have in the past experienced corkage fees in fine dining restaurant's but never in a hotel!! Unacceptable!! We flatly refused to pay the fee and asked to speak with the manager, to which we received no response. Upon check out the following morning I told the clerk we would not pay the corkage fee and were told "rudely" that it would be removed from our bill. Overall, we were not pleased with our experience and will not be returning to this overpriced, unwelcoming B& B. We stay in Amsterdam quite often, but will find other accommodations going forward.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the suites on the lower level where the breakfast room is located. They are dark, dre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Luxpoet,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Hotel Seven one Seven in April 2013.

We are sorry the hear that parts of your stay were dissatisfying. We apoligize for all the inconvience you have experienced and have resolved most of the matters you mentioned.

If it is still possible we’d liked to welcome you back in the nearby future to experience the Hotel Seven one Seven as it should be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were very lucky to have spent 4 nights at Hotel Seven One Seven over New Year's Eve. We were in the Picasso Suite which is vast and very impressive indeed. The suite is extremely comfortable with a large bed and 2 enormous sofas, with a fabulous view over the Prinsengracht Canal. I felt it was bigger that the picture on the website had lead me to believe - always nice when that happens! The decor is quite classical/traditional without being stuffy or to over the top.. We tended to sleep late, and miss breakfast, so can't comment on that, but they did do an excellent selection of tea and cakes in the afternoon. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly at all times.

If pressed to find a negative, it is a little annoying that the hotel is always locked and so you have to buzz and wait (often in the rain in our case). It would also be nice to have hair conditioner in the bathroom.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this hotel, and would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: If you can stretch to the Picasso Suite, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel il beautiful, with all the modern comfort but the charm of the ancient style, he's perfectly located, next all the shops and the center of town, restaurants and in front of a canal.
The staff is very helpfull for all our wishes.
The breakfast is delicious and the service is perfect.
We had the Franz Liszt room which is a lovely suite, the only thing we regret is the size of the toilet, for a tall person it's very tiny.. but that's a detail.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is not a hotel but a highly overpriced B & B. We chose it because of Tripadvisor but were very disappointed. The front door was locked on arrival and we waited 10 minutes ringing the doorbell in the rain before a desk clerk arrived. Next day a different clerk kept us waiting over 5 minutes. Only one out of three times could we gain entry without a long wait. Our room was in the attic up 8 steep flights of stairs. The roof beams gave us one inch of clearance above our heads. The shower had poor water pressure and the wifi instructions were incomplete. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. All this cost 400 Euros a night. Breakfast cost 20 Euros per person with no buffet. We waited 30 minutes on 2 out of 3 mornings for the cooked breakfast. Overall, a dismal experience..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Hardingly,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you had a dissatisfying experience at Hotel Seven one Seven. Please contact us directly to solve this matter.

We hope to let you experience the grandeur of Hotel Seven one Seven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is lovely & the staff are excellent- very helpful! They arranged 2 dinners for us & both places were perfect. Would highly recommend the 717 for anyone looking for a charming weekend away in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.