We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, Amsterdam 1017 JW, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special (3for2)
Ranked #15 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for three nights in late December. The location is perfect - the canal district is very central meaning you can walk everywhere, but quiet leading to a good nights sleep. The hotel feels more like an incredible home than a hotel. The decor is stunning. We stayed in the Mahler room - big room with a lovely big bathroom. Great restaurant recommendations from the staff. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    220
    34
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
17
174
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

It was back in 2012 that we stayed at this stunning hotel. But we had booked a junior suite with booking.com and our room as classed by the hotel was a deluxe room, much smaller and not as nice. Our deluxe room was amazing, but we had booked and paid for a junior suite, (the difference was clear as all rooms are named on the website stating which were deluxe and junior suites) we spoke to the man on reception and then he passed us on to the hotel manager. They refused to accept the difference, and blamed booking.com. After several emails to both parties, neither claimed that they were in the wrong both blaming each other. Fora very expensive hotel, I found it distressing that they were arguing with me. (Not what I expect for such 'an exclusive hotel'. ) I haven't long joined trip advisor and that it why the review has taken so long. Would I return? No.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank for you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We highly value the opinion of our guests and therefore are sorry to hear of your dissafaction when staying at Hotel Seven one Seven in 2012.

Please let us know when you are planning a to visit Amsterdam in the nearby future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Small and typical Amsterdam Townhouse on the charming Prinsengracht, whith an amazing interior design full of antiquities and art pieces - in every room! Very elegant but in the same time very cosy. The service its outstanding friendly. My stay in SChubert Suite was outstanding and I will definitely come back. A place to stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The narrow, but high, house is full of antiques and artifacts. The style is cluttered high end chic. The suites are well appointed, a reasonable size (but our WC was uncomfortably small) and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was set, but plentiful and served in attractive suroundings. In winter the house was always warm. I understand why keys have to be handed in before one leaves the house (these are old doors, old locks and would be impossibkle to replace), but it is odd and relies on the door always being 'manned' - which, I have to say, it almost always was. The outstanding attribute for me was the staff - a group of, mostly, young men who were unfailingly courteous, attentive and keen to make sure everything worked and was well for you. Be it afternoon tea, booking restaurants, offering umbrelas or just chatting, they are to be commended for making their clients feel welcome. The location is ideal for a walk to the museums in one direction and the town centre in the other.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the canals do not choose the Frans Liszt suite. It is in the basement with eye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Hotel 717 twice now and we absolutely love it! Charming and warm, perfectly located and the staff is always awesome.
Our favorite room is the Schubert and we will definitely be back.
See you again Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Position, ambience, room size, service, breakfast .. All excellent. So often boutique hotels fail to deliver on some or all, but this elegant inner city townhouse delivers decisively across the board. Go stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed in Room at the Top, beautifully decorated with no less than five windows in different directions. Some with view over the canal and others with rooftop views. Comfy bed and bathroom with window in it. We loved every bit of the hotel, easily one of the prettier hotels I've stayed in and the staff were super nice and helpful. Breakfast a bit simple and we'd recommend you to have breakfast in your room which certainly is big enough for it. It is one of the few hotels I've stayed in which actually looks better in reality than in the pictures on the website, not that the pictures aren't good, but the hotel really is something extraordinary. Definitely coming back here again.
Our only remarks are the low water pressure in the shower and the steep stairs but it is what it is, it's an old building so not much you can do about the stairs.

Room Tip: Steep stairs so you might want to get one of the rooms at the lower floors, although not the one nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, Amsterdam 1017 JW, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.