We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Boutique Hotel perfectly located!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Amazing Boutique Hotel perfectly located!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Small and typical Amsterdam Townhouse on the charming Prinsengracht, whith an amazing interior design full of antiquities and art pieces - in every room! Very elegant but in the same time very cosy. The service its outstanding friendly. My stay in SChubert Suite was outstanding and I will definitely come back. A place to stay in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    39
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
200
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The narrow, but high, house is full of antiques and artifacts. The style is cluttered high end chic. The suites are well appointed, a reasonable size (but our WC was uncomfortably small) and beautifully furnished. Breakfast was set, but plentiful and served in attractive suroundings. In winter the house was always warm. I understand why keys have to be handed in before one leaves the house (these are old doors, old locks and would be impossibkle to replace), but it is odd and relies on the door always being 'manned' - which, I have to say, it almost always was. The outstanding attribute for me was the staff - a group of, mostly, young men who were unfailingly courteous, attentive and keen to make sure everything worked and was well for you. Be it afternoon tea, booking restaurants, offering umbrelas or just chatting, they are to be commended for making their clients feel welcome. The location is ideal for a walk to the museums in one direction and the town centre in the other.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the canals do not choose the Frans Liszt suite. It is in the basement with eye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Hotel 717 twice now and we absolutely love it! Charming and warm, perfectly located and the staff is always awesome.
Our favorite room is the Schubert and we will definitely be back.
See you again Amsterdam!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Position, ambience, room size, service, breakfast .. All excellent. So often boutique hotels fail to deliver on some or all, but this elegant inner city townhouse delivers decisively across the board. Go stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed in Room at the Top, beautifully decorated with no less than five windows in different directions. Some with view over the canal and others with rooftop views. Comfy bed and bathroom with window in it. We loved every bit of the hotel, easily one of the prettier hotels I've stayed in and the staff were super nice and helpful. Breakfast a bit simple and we'd recommend you to have breakfast in your room which certainly is big enough for it. It is one of the few hotels I've stayed in which actually looks better in reality than in the pictures on the website, not that the pictures aren't good, but the hotel really is something extraordinary. Definitely coming back here again.
Our only remarks are the low water pressure in the shower and the steep stairs but it is what it is, it's an old building so not much you can do about the stairs.

Room Tip: Steep stairs so you might want to get one of the rooms at the lower floors, although not the one nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den bosch
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in the Von Goethe Suite. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated and to us it felt like home. The location is great, walking distance from quite a few of the museums and of course the shops at the Leidse Straat, the nine little streets and the PC Hooftstraat. We always like to stay in that neighborhood.
The Von Goethe Suite was lovely, well decorated, but despite of the amount of windows in the suite, there wasn't a window with a nice view, I found that a bit disturbing but then again, we didn't stay in the room for a long time, Amsterdam is too much fun to stay in your room ;-)
Bathroom was okay, breakfast was simple but fun, especially the Delfts-Blue dishes were charming.
It was quite nice to stay in a 'real' Dutch mansion, and be treated as if you live there..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Hard to know where to start here - the hotel is perfectly placed, offers enormous rooms which are beautifully themed and jaw-dropping when you enter..

The two public rooms are elegant, conformable and just right for curling up in

It is very clean, tidy and quiet and exceedingly well maintained

the small number of staff are unfailingly courteous and helpful

The food (limited menu) is excellent

Our short stay was perfect

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.