We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, friendly and perfectly located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elegant, friendly and perfectly located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel 717 ticks all the boxes for an exceptional stay in Amsterdam. The service is friendly and welcoming, the hotel itself is elegant and well appointed. Its location is superb. I could not fault it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    36
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
184
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have been regular visitors to this great city for close to a decade and finally decided to change hotels and try this discrete boutique hotel, having always had a fascination for the gorgeous grand canal houses. It did not disappoint - despite the stairs! We knew we were in for some exercise having chosen Room at the Top and then realizing there is no elevator - but it was worth it and for all we ate during our trip including the excellent breakfast served in the cozy hotel dining room we needed the exercise. The room was wonderful, cozy and big, you feel like a guest in a private home during another era. Highly recommended. Will definitely be back to try another room as they are all different.

Room Tip: Select your room carefully - the stairs are narrow and steep so keep in mind before having a nasty s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We've traveled extensively, and stayed in every type of guest room imaginable. 717 a luxury residence, is exactly that. For us, our stays here have been the most gracious of anywhere we've stayed, globally, without exception. It's more than a home away from home, it is home.

Not only are the rooms comfortable, the staff makes every effort to make you feel comfortable as well. In our opinion, 717 is the finest, and our favorite, place to stay.

Additionally we are fortunate that the Netherlands share their country with us, and show us all a finer way to live. We are richer for the experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to museums, parks, shopping and restaurants. The Tolkien Suite is a quiet retreat; since it is on the back courtyard, there is no traffic noise. Although there is currently construction of a building happening across the courtyard, the noise was limited to daytime hours, and was not disturbing. The room is large and comfortable with attractive furniture and decor and plenty of windows. The best feature of the hotel, however, is the service provided by the staff. The staff are attentive without being intrusive, helpful and professional. The staff facilitated early check-in and provided guidance for interesting neighborhoods for walking to explore Amsterdam. Impressively, I was served early breakfast in my room so that I could make it to the airport for my early flight. The complimentary breakfast included delicious freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly prepared fruit salad, a basket of fresh roles and pastries, and a plate of ham and cheeses. Overall, a first rate place to which I hope to return.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Loved the whole experience: beautifully decorated and big room, amazing service, great location. They even ironed by husband's shirt for free!

One small thing to be aware of: the brekkie is not included and it's 20 euros per head. We didn't realise it wasn't included and having known this we wouldn't have gone there the second morning as it's not worth this amount, it's nice but not what you would expect at this price.

Overall great place, would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our stay at Seven One Seven enhanced our wonderful experience in Amsterdam. The most noticeable quality of Seven One Seven was the staff’s personal attentiveness and authentic desire to make each individual’s stay special.

Upon our early arrival we were warmly welcomed inside where we were offered a cup of tea, coffee, biscuits, and encouraged to relax in the living room. Although our room was not yet ready for our entry, the staff completed the check-in process, happily stored our luggage, and provided us with recommended areas for shopping within walking distance. The staff was very accommodating and attentive and the bed and breakfast was beautifully decorated with careful attention paid to every detail including warm, cozy beds, soft linens, and water placed at our bedside table by the evening. The patio’s casual decor, decorated with plants and candles, allowed for a relaxing and private space while being able to enjoy Amsterdam’s fresh air. The breakfast of freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea, eggs, and pastry, was delicious.

We couldn’t have had a better experience and are happy to highly recommend Seven One Seven to guests that appreciate quality décor, service, and attentiveness. Thank you to the staff of Seven One Seven, for enhancing our trip to Amsterdam and leaving us with such a special gift.

Warmly,
Fabio and Jackie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, Front Office Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Fabio and Jackie,

Thank you for your kinds words. We just wanted to tell you that it was a pleasure serving you and hopefully we will meet each other again in the nearby future.

Wiebe van Eijsden
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The weekend was to be a treat fory husband's birthday and the hotel made it particularly special. It was incredibly convenient, being within walking distance of all the sights, and incredibly beautiful. Our room was sumptuous and the service was friendly and helpful without being intrusive in any way. Staying in somewhere so beautiful and stylish was wonderful and they had some extras to make it even more so - we arrived late and the half bottle of Krug and some caviar for supper while lounging in our vast sitting room was a pretty unique way to relax and ready ourselves for the weekend. We couldn't have had a better backdrop to the weekend. I'd very heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Jetsetter, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.