We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, gracious and comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #17 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, gracious and comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We've traveled extensively, and stayed in every type of guest room imaginable. 717 a luxury residence, is exactly that. For us, our stays here have been the most gracious of anywhere we've stayed, globally, without exception. It's more than a home away from home, it is home.

Not only are the rooms comfortable, the staff makes every effort to make you feel comfortable as well. In our opinion, 717 is the finest, and our favorite, place to stay.

Additionally we are fortunate that the Netherlands share their country with us, and show us all a finer way to live. We are richer for the experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    37
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
187
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Silver, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to museums, parks, shopping and restaurants. The Tolkien Suite is a quiet retreat; since it is on the back courtyard, there is no traffic noise. Although there is currently construction of a building happening across the courtyard, the noise was limited to daytime hours, and was not disturbing. The room is large and comfortable with attractive furniture and decor and plenty of windows. The best feature of the hotel, however, is the service provided by the staff. The staff are attentive without being intrusive, helpful and professional. The staff facilitated early check-in and provided guidance for interesting neighborhoods for walking to explore Amsterdam. Impressively, I was served early breakfast in my room so that I could make it to the airport for my early flight. The complimentary breakfast included delicious freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly prepared fruit salad, a basket of fresh roles and pastries, and a plate of ham and cheeses. Overall, a first rate place to which I hope to return.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Loved the whole experience: beautifully decorated and big room, amazing service, great location. They even ironed by husband's shirt for free!

One small thing to be aware of: the brekkie is not included and it's 20 euros per head. We didn't realise it wasn't included and having known this we wouldn't have gone there the second morning as it's not worth this amount, it's nice but not what you would expect at this price.

Overall great place, would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our stay at Seven One Seven enhanced our wonderful experience in Amsterdam. The most noticeable quality of Seven One Seven was the staff’s personal attentiveness and authentic desire to make each individual’s stay special.

Upon our early arrival we were warmly welcomed inside where we were offered a cup of tea, coffee, biscuits, and encouraged to relax in the living room. Although our room was not yet ready for our entry, the staff completed the check-in process, happily stored our luggage, and provided us with recommended areas for shopping within walking distance. The staff was very accommodating and attentive and the bed and breakfast was beautifully decorated with careful attention paid to every detail including warm, cozy beds, soft linens, and water placed at our bedside table by the evening. The patio’s casual decor, decorated with plants and candles, allowed for a relaxing and private space while being able to enjoy Amsterdam’s fresh air. The breakfast of freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee and tea, eggs, and pastry, was delicious.

We couldn’t have had a better experience and are happy to highly recommend Seven One Seven to guests that appreciate quality décor, service, and attentiveness. Thank you to the staff of Seven One Seven, for enhancing our trip to Amsterdam and leaving us with such a special gift.

Warmly,
Fabio and Jackie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, Front Office Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Fabio and Jackie,

Thank you for your kinds words. We just wanted to tell you that it was a pleasure serving you and hopefully we will meet each other again in the nearby future.

Wiebe van Eijsden
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The weekend was to be a treat fory husband's birthday and the hotel made it particularly special. It was incredibly convenient, being within walking distance of all the sights, and incredibly beautiful. Our room was sumptuous and the service was friendly and helpful without being intrusive in any way. Staying in somewhere so beautiful and stylish was wonderful and they had some extras to make it even more so - we arrived late and the half bottle of Krug and some caviar for supper while lounging in our vast sitting room was a pretty unique way to relax and ready ourselves for the weekend. We couldn't have had a better backdrop to the weekend. I'd very heartily recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First impressions where good, nice reception area and greeting even though we arrived a little early and we were still able to check in. Concierge took luggage to room while we filled a form in. Then shown to room, ours was room number 6, nice big room, lovely bathroom and nicely decorated, view was overlooking another building, so no view at all really, which was maybe fair enough as we booked late and probably got last room available. We then heard hammering/drilling/grinding etc. oh what’s that noise? ‘Construction’ was the reply and at the building next to us that we were looking at, never saw that on any review so just be aware as the ‘construction’ was not near completion.
Read through the information pack for 717, it mentioned breakfast at €20 per person. We booked through Jettsetter and even rang up to confirm breakfast was included as the information on their web site was contradictory. Anyway as always when we asked at the hotel, breakfast was not included, which was what persuaded us to opt for 717 from a few others of similar quality. At the time of writing it does say Free Breakfast with your stay on TripAdvisor.
In the information pack it said contact reception for adjustments to air conditioning unit, when I did ring to get the room cooler the night porter didn’t know anything about it, so we opened a window and then got woken the next from the ‘construction’ to the building opposite.
We also contacted the night porter about mini-bar prices, we were informed €2.50 per can for either alcoholic or non alcoholic drinks. When we checked out we were told them what we’d had, he said “on the House” so don’t know if the mini bar was free or not in the end.
On the plus points room was nicely decorated, bed was comfortable, staff were very polite and helpful (except the night porter) , especially the young man who was there through the day always asking if we needed directions to anywhere and always opened the door for us when leaving the hotel. It’s an OK location, little bit out of the centre but that was ok, 25 minutes walk to the central station, 20 minute walk to Dam square and Hard Rock café was a 5 minute walk away. Most attractions are within walking distance so if you get the bus tour only do the 24hr one as you’ll soon find your way around.

Room Tip: No view with room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
First of all we'd like to thank you for taken the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read that, as a Jetsetter member, your stay was not satisfying. We regret there was confusion about breakfast and the airconditioning.

Hotel Seven one Seven has guest srvice as main focus and we do the utmost to exceed the high expectations. We will certainly look into the mentioned points of inprovements and correct them to our default level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

loved the stay in the hotel, blissful, staff very friendly, accommodation and location both perfect. Another review mentioned the stairs! its a 17th century town house THERE ARE STAIRS! the staff carry your luggage, so why would you mention it?
one thing in all correspondence as i booked in for 2 people you write to Mr and Mrs Downs, we are not all married straight couples!
regards
A. Downs J Wilkins (Mr and Mr)

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.