We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven out of Ten” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Save Saved
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seven out of Ten”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

First impressions where good, nice reception area and greeting even though we arrived a little early and we were still able to check in. Concierge took luggage to room while we filled a form in. Then shown to room, ours was room number 6, nice big room, lovely bathroom and nicely decorated, view was overlooking another building, so no view at all really, which was maybe fair enough as we booked late and probably got last room available. We then heard hammering/drilling/grinding etc. oh what’s that noise? ‘Construction’ was the reply and at the building next to us that we were looking at, never saw that on any review so just be aware as the ‘construction’ was not near completion.
Read through the information pack for 717, it mentioned breakfast at €20 per person. We booked through Jettsetter and even rang up to confirm breakfast was included as the information on their web site was contradictory. Anyway as always when we asked at the hotel, breakfast was not included, which was what persuaded us to opt for 717 from a few others of similar quality. At the time of writing it does say Free Breakfast with your stay on TripAdvisor.
In the information pack it said contact reception for adjustments to air conditioning unit, when I did ring to get the room cooler the night porter didn’t know anything about it, so we opened a window and then got woken the next from the ‘construction’ to the building opposite.
We also contacted the night porter about mini-bar prices, we were informed €2.50 per can for either alcoholic or non alcoholic drinks. When we checked out we were told them what we’d had, he said “on the House” so don’t know if the mini bar was free or not in the end.
On the plus points room was nicely decorated, bed was comfortable, staff were very polite and helpful (except the night porter) , especially the young man who was there through the day always asking if we needed directions to anywhere and always opened the door for us when leaving the hotel. It’s an OK location, little bit out of the centre but that was ok, 25 minutes walk to the central station, 20 minute walk to Dam square and Hard Rock café was a 5 minute walk away. Most attractions are within walking distance so if you get the bus tour only do the 24hr one as you’ll soon find your way around.

Room Tip: No view with room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
First of all we'd like to thank you for taken the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to read that, as a Jetsetter member, your stay was not satisfying. We regret there was confusion about breakfast and the airconditioning.

Hotel Seven one Seven has guest srvice as main focus and we do the utmost to exceed the high expectations. We will certainly look into the mentioned points of inprovements and correct them to our default level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    36
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
23
181
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

loved the stay in the hotel, blissful, staff very friendly, accommodation and location both perfect. Another review mentioned the stairs! its a 17th century town house THERE ARE STAIRS! the staff carry your luggage, so why would you mention it?
one thing in all correspondence as i booked in for 2 people you write to Mr and Mrs Downs, we are not all married straight couples!
regards
A. Downs J Wilkins (Mr and Mr)

Room Tip: all rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recent business trip with late booking. Amazing location with abundant social and shopping areas in walking distance. A big hotel could have offered the same location but not the level of service. Staff always available -- amenities better than par. Breakfast worth the cost. Did not feel I was one of a cluster but a special person. Efficient arrangement of airport travel. Already looking to go back.

Room Tip: Higher is better but be prepared to climb steep staircases with narrow pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

First, the good – which is indeed very good! The location can’t be beat (smack in the heart of town, in walking distance of roughly everything). The staff is kind and responsive. And some of the décor almost flirts with greatness. They’re going for an Olde Europe vibe, mixed up with some modern touches and the occasional African mask. The public rooms downstairs feel like the work of almost great designer. However the guest rooms feel more like the work of that designer’s intern (definitely in the same vein, but rather relatively ham-fisted).

Alas, 717 face-plants on the small & simple things that are nonetheless important to modern travelers. Their wireless network is incompetently maintained, so plan to either pay up for data on your cell phone, or hit an Internet café. The breakfast offering is meager, and the service is glacial (it takes about an hour for your basic continental breakfast to trickle out in small bits & pieces). Lamps in the middle of your room are powered by cords that stretch right across your carpet (making bike-choked Amsterdam sidewalks seem pedestrian friendly by comparison). Two rival faucets in the shower share partial control over both the temperature and the water pressure, and getting a bearable shower requires that you first coax them through a maddening consensus-building process. Meanwhile the whole point of the private safe is undermined by the fact that the key to it (that’s right – no digital code) is lashed to your big, clunky room key, which you’re all-but required to hand over whenever you leave the hotel. I could go on (don’t get me started about climate control…) but you get the gist.

To be clear, 717 seeks to be an eclectic, old-school place, so no one should come here expecting iPhone docks and color-controllable LED lighting. But at these prices, you shouldn’t have to choose between old world charm and baseline post-Clinton conveniences. Prior to coming here, we traveled East Africa for a month, and almost everywhere we stayed blended authentic local flavor with functioning WiFi and electric plugs that didn’t snare our feet. This sort of balance is surely attainable in a place as stunningly modern & cosmopolitan as Amsterdam.

All of that said, let’s bear in mind that these ARE small issues, and 717 delivers nicely on most of the big ones. The mystery is why a super-pricey place that flirts with greatness is so careless with details that low-end Sheratons routinely nail. If 717 were in a significantly different price bracket, I’d write off its irksome quirks and give them five stars. And if you’re blessed with unlimited travel funds, this could still be an OK hotel choice. But if you just do occasional splurges in this price range, this is NOT a place to blow one of your precious silver bullets. Save huge money by choosing a mid-charm, mid-priced larger hotel (e.g. the Grand Krasnapolsky is in the bulls-eye center of the city & is quite underrated). You’ll still have full access to central Amsterdam’s charm and energy, and can later throw down the big bucks at a place that respects the importance of details as much as the value of a fancy address.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
First of all we like to thank you for taken the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback you have given us. We are sorry to read that your stay could have been better and we'll be using your feedback to keep our services at the standards our guests can except while staying at Hotel Seven one Seven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

1st time in Amsterdam and we picked one of the best hotels there. Seven one Seven was wonderful. The service was excellent and the location was perfect. The room was one of the best we stayed and we've traveled throughout Europe. We would recommend this boutique hotel to anyone. Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My partner and I recently spent 4 nights in this classic, intimate property. It was our third visit since the hotel's opening in 1998. It has maintained exceptionally high standards through changes in management and retained its classic elegance through changing fashions. It is a double canal house mansion and is furnished sumptuously. Lush textures are featured in the rooms; flannel, fur, velvet and wool which give it a sense of comfort and luxury. The decor is timeless and combines modern and antique elements with the flair that is typical of Dutch design. The location is superb and the staff is friendly and available without seeming obtrusive or obsequious. They also give excellent advice on restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: The Schubert Suite and the Picasso Suite are the largest and have the best views of the Prinsengrach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We found Seven One Seven to be a haven during the very busy tourist season. Our room was the Van Goethe, spacious and well-appointed, with lots of light and a comfortable sitting area. The people on staff during our stay were very accommodating, and carried our heavy suitcases up five flights of stairs! The location is great, on the canal and easy walk to Rjiksmuseum and other areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.