We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seven one Seven

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Seven one Seven to your Saves list
Hotel Seven one Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #17 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unexpected elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Recent business trip with late booking. Amazing location with abundant social and shopping areas in walking distance. A big hotel could have offered the same location but not the level of service. Staff always available -- amenities better than par. Breakfast worth the cost. Did not feel I was one of a cluster but a special person. Efficient arrangement of airport travel. Already looking to go back.

Room Tip: Higher is better but be prepared to climb steep staircases with narrow pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    37
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
186
17
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
santa monica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

First, the good – which is indeed very good! The location can’t be beat (smack in the heart of town, in walking distance of roughly everything). The staff is kind and responsive. And some of the décor almost flirts with greatness. They’re going for an Olde Europe vibe, mixed up with some modern touches and the occasional African mask. The public rooms downstairs feel like the work of almost great designer. However the guest rooms feel more like the work of that designer’s intern (definitely in the same vein, but rather relatively ham-fisted).

Alas, 717 face-plants on the small & simple things that are nonetheless important to modern travelers. Their wireless network is incompetently maintained, so plan to either pay up for data on your cell phone, or hit an Internet café. The breakfast offering is meager, and the service is glacial (it takes about an hour for your basic continental breakfast to trickle out in small bits & pieces). Lamps in the middle of your room are powered by cords that stretch right across your carpet (making bike-choked Amsterdam sidewalks seem pedestrian friendly by comparison). Two rival faucets in the shower share partial control over both the temperature and the water pressure, and getting a bearable shower requires that you first coax them through a maddening consensus-building process. Meanwhile the whole point of the private safe is undermined by the fact that the key to it (that’s right – no digital code) is lashed to your big, clunky room key, which you’re all-but required to hand over whenever you leave the hotel. I could go on (don’t get me started about climate control…) but you get the gist.

To be clear, 717 seeks to be an eclectic, old-school place, so no one should come here expecting iPhone docks and color-controllable LED lighting. But at these prices, you shouldn’t have to choose between old world charm and baseline post-Clinton conveniences. Prior to coming here, we traveled East Africa for a month, and almost everywhere we stayed blended authentic local flavor with functioning WiFi and electric plugs that didn’t snare our feet. This sort of balance is surely attainable in a place as stunningly modern & cosmopolitan as Amsterdam.

All of that said, let’s bear in mind that these ARE small issues, and 717 delivers nicely on most of the big ones. The mystery is why a super-pricey place that flirts with greatness is so careless with details that low-end Sheratons routinely nail. If 717 were in a significantly different price bracket, I’d write off its irksome quirks and give them five stars. And if you’re blessed with unlimited travel funds, this could still be an OK hotel choice. But if you just do occasional splurges in this price range, this is NOT a place to blow one of your precious silver bullets. Save huge money by choosing a mid-charm, mid-priced larger hotel (e.g. the Grand Krasnapolsky is in the bulls-eye center of the city & is quite underrated). You’ll still have full access to central Amsterdam’s charm and energy, and can later throw down the big bucks at a place that respects the importance of details as much as the value of a fancy address.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven_one_Seven, General Manager at Hotel Seven one Seven, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
First of all we like to thank you for taken the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the feedback you have given us. We are sorry to read that your stay could have been better and we'll be using your feedback to keep our services at the standards our guests can except while staying at Hotel Seven one Seven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

1st time in Amsterdam and we picked one of the best hotels there. Seven one Seven was wonderful. The service was excellent and the location was perfect. The room was one of the best we stayed and we've traveled throughout Europe. We would recommend this boutique hotel to anyone. Perfect place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My partner and I recently spent 4 nights in this classic, intimate property. It was our third visit since the hotel's opening in 1998. It has maintained exceptionally high standards through changes in management and retained its classic elegance through changing fashions. It is a double canal house mansion and is furnished sumptuously. Lush textures are featured in the rooms; flannel, fur, velvet and wool which give it a sense of comfort and luxury. The decor is timeless and combines modern and antique elements with the flair that is typical of Dutch design. The location is superb and the staff is friendly and available without seeming obtrusive or obsequious. They also give excellent advice on restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: The Schubert Suite and the Picasso Suite are the largest and have the best views of the Prinsengrach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We found Seven One Seven to be a haven during the very busy tourist season. Our room was the Van Goethe, spacious and well-appointed, with lots of light and a comfortable sitting area. The people on staff during our stay were very accommodating, and carried our heavy suitcases up five flights of stairs! The location is great, on the canal and easy walk to Rjiksmuseum and other areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in this lovely, well-situated hotel on Prinsengracht. We had the Van Groethe room/suite which was roomy and very comfortable overlooking the back of the hotel. The view wasn't great, but we prefer the peace, away from the road and canal, but we had loads of light through many windows. All the staff were great - helpful, polite, patient and friendly. The hotel is close to the Museum area, which was one of the main reasons for the visit. The refurbished Rijksmuseum is superb and so is the Van Gogh. Due to wet weather we also visited the modern art museum. The trams stop very close (not too close) to the hotel and come straight from Central Station. There seemed to be a fixed breakfast, but no - just ask for muesli, yoghurt, cereal, different eggs, bacon etc and they will bring them. The furnishings in the hotel are great too. All in all, a highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: The stairs are very steep, so if you have any difficulty, don't go for the Van Goethe room or th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very private and comfortable accommodation in a great location. Perfect if visiting the Reijt Museum, picking up a canal bus or just wanting to stroll round the" 9 Streets" boutiques.

Service standards are exemplary, nothing is too much trouble and breakfast is just perfect!

We stayed in Shakespeare which is just a few steps up from the foyer, extremely comfortable and quiet.

You really do feel you are staying in a private house - charming and really rather special.

We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms can be seen on the website so you can "see before you buy"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Seven one Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seven one Seven

Address: Prinsengracht 717, 1017 JW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seven one Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive private guest house in the heart of the city with Amsterdam's major attractions at walking distance. As our guest - either for business or pleasure - you will experience the unique combination of staying in a 19th-century building with all the contemporary amenities of today. Our main purpose hereby is to create a relaxed atmosphere and ‘A feeling of home away from home'. We look forward welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Seven one Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 7 1 Seven
Hotel Seven One
Seven One Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Seven one Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.